Skip to content

A Superbowl Snack for My Hair

February 9, 2010
The Guac!

Hair Guac!

Last week I came across an intriguing recipe titled Hair Guacamole (thanks Savvy!). In a land of hair puddings, custards, meringues, souffles, cremes, and butters, this savory renegade really piqued my interest.  So, in honor of America’s greatest day of snacking (Superbowl Sunday) I decided to give this deep conditioning dip a try! I figured that if my tastebuds and tummy love guac, why wouldn’t my hair??

I have to say, slathering my hair with a creamy green sauce typically

Hair Guac Ingredients

The ingredients: simple, yet rich

consumed on a taco was a bit unnerving at first, but I got over it pretty quickly as I watched my curls soak in the goodness of the avocado’s natural fats, the mayo’s protein, and the nutrient rich coconut oil.

In this dessert-laden product world, it was refreshing not only to get away from the sweets, but also to create a conditioner using things already in my kitchen! Many may cringe at the idea of putting edibles in their hair, but think about it—humans have had hair forever and they were certainly able to care for it before the likes of Aveda and the salon posse showed up on the scene

Post Guac

Happy Me with Happy Hair

I left the concoction in for a couple hours, rinsed, and then applied my products as usual, braided it up and went to bed.  Today my hair is super soft, shiny, and bouncy.  I will definitely be going back for seconds of this one!

Oh.   And because I know you’re wondering: yes, I tasted it.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. February 9, 2010 6:20 am

    Hi there! Great blog! (I just subscribed) I ‘m so glad you liked it! And gurl pleeez, I made too much once, and before I put any in my hair I spooned some off and stuck it in the fridge, and a day later it was used as dip! LOL

    – savvy

  2. Mamajesty permalink
    February 9, 2010 7:41 am

    Nice pic. Your hair is getting very long. Yes, I know…it grows fast. (And I am speaking from a personal and way too intimate experience with your hair.)

  3. February 10, 2010 1:08 pm

    Hey, just wanted to let you know I got my headband from Forever 21 (my favorite store)

  4. stang permalink
    February 11, 2010 1:10 am

    hey, i tried just mayo once and it rocked. love you !
    d

  5. February 17, 2010 4:01 pm

    I will try it, then I will get back to on the turn out…

Leave a Reply

