Skip to content

Newly Curly?

February 17, 2010

Recently, I’ve been trying to do a lot less with my hair.  No shampoo.  No combing. No daily styling. And the results?  CURLS.  Lots of them.  I mean, we’re talking teeny weeny perfect spirals everywhere, like a zillion mini-slinkies!

But I don’t remember ever having them before.

From my childhood, I only remember just having masses of nearly un-tameable hair, people always said it was “too much hair”.  No one ever ever ever used the word curly.  Curl-less natural me.  Age 4.

So this morning I called my Nana, just to make sure my memory was serving me correct.  It was a brief conversation:

“Nana, when I was little, did I have curly hair.”

“Nope!”

Great!  So I’m not crazy/unobservant of my own hair!

So that got me thinking: when and how did this happen?  Here are my few ideas:

  • No more combing: the not combing/brushing routine has allowed my hair to finally do what it wants to do, rather than what I want to do: CURL!
  • Moisture: my curls are at their best when they’re wet.  I live in San Francisco and this coastal climate is a pretty wet climate.  Constant fog + mist = happy hair?
  • Biology: I’ve heard that hair changes texture a few times throughout a person’s life.  Maybe this is just the case.  But in my research on this matter (and by research, I obviously mean a quick googling), I couldn’t find a definitive answer…

Any other ideas?

18 Comments leave one →
  1. February 17, 2010 3:06 am

    I agree with this definitely. My parents have told me that my hair was always “nappy,” but obviously my mother was dry combing my hair and basically combing out any curl pattern I had. I also think that not using shampoo and balancing protein and moisture (or trying to, lol) has helped a ton. My hair also gets really frizzy when I use cones…I’ll see what happens when it grows out more though…but I love my curly ‘fro!

  2. Melinda permalink
    February 17, 2010 9:51 pm

    Great Hair lady and I love love love the dress with the cowboy boots!!! jazzi snazzi!! Your curls look grreeat, I am gonna try your method when I wash my hair, dontcha jus love our curls!!! If we had only known!!

  3. February 17, 2010 11:43 pm

    srsly! if only we had all known the horrors of dry combing and the beauty of curls….alas.

    welp, glad we know now! 🙂 and I do just love the curls and how they pop’n’boing everywhere!

  4. Paula permalink
    February 17, 2010 8:36 am

    Hi Cassidy,
    My name is Paula and I also live in San Francisco. I read your post of bglhonline.com and read that you got your Big Chop done in San Francisco. I’m looking for a place to do my Big Chop I have also been transitioning for a year with braids, and was hoping you could recommend somewhere. I’ve looked at places online but some of the reviews have been really aweful. I have quite a bit of new growth and would like to go to someone who knows what they’re doing. btw your hair is beautiful!

    • February 17, 2010 3:15 pm

      @ Paula— I emailed you with some details about the BC and where to go in SF. lemme know if you didn’t get it!

  5. Paula permalink
    February 17, 2010 6:11 pm

    Thanks Cassadie! I got it, and I will definitely check out the two salons you suggested and be at the meetup in San Francisco (hopefully all natural). Thanks so much for you advice and your informative blog! It really is an inspiration to continue my journey to natural hair.

  6. February 17, 2010 10:16 pm

    Hi!
    I also live in the bay area (Hayward) and am looking for a place to BC! Did you like the salon you went to? Can you give me their contact info? I’m so nervous 😡 haha

  7. Rossana permalink
    February 23, 2010 3:44 pm

    So I found your blog from over on naturallycurly.com and I can relate.. I didn’t exactly BC but I did transition, cut off ALL my relaxed ends, braided in extensions and a couple of weeks ago I decided to remove the braids. I was so anxious to remove the extensions you have no idea – I was counting down the days to all my friends until it was finally done. And boy I have never felt more confident and more beautiful, Amazing what a little hair does? Anyway I just wanted to let you know that I am another sharing the same hair journey as you.. Lol.. Fo’real! 🙂

    • February 24, 2010 11:23 am

      Hi Rossana!

      Thanks for reading! I totally agree with you about getting so ANTSY to remove the braids and see what’s hiding under there!! It’s very very exciting!!! Like christmas!! hahaha… do you have a blog or fokti or anything?

      Cb

      • Rossana permalink
        March 7, 2010 1:50 am

        Hi Cassadie! Right now I don’t but I think I will start one and share the journey with you guys.. Sure there’s black folk on campus but no-one really going through what I’m going through. Plus there’s great little stores with ethnic products and such but because I’m in the UK I have to rely on online shopping.. But the owner of one the beauty supply store is friendly and I might just ask her to order some products if she could.. Oh my gosh I just noticed I added another post reply, I’d forgot I’d been to this post until I noticed the pic and the writing.. Lol..

      • March 10, 2010 9:21 am

        hahahaha—- thats funny! glad you were re-inspired to visit again 🙂 are you able to get most products shipped to the UK? oh my…ok, I’m trying to think because I was just lurking on this site of a woman who makes all natural products in the UK…I think shes like the British Afroveda… I’ll try to remember and post back here/email you!!!

  8. NoodleNaps permalink
    March 2, 2010 5:36 am

    You’re absolutely right. I was exactly the same, I never had curly hair growing up (though strangely enough, my brothers did), just ‘a lot of hair’ as well. But also, I’ve been natural for almost 10 years and still never had curly hair, try as I might to get it. So called “natural” hairdressers have told me my hair was too resistant, and maybe I should just relax, all while loading my hair with sulphates and cones. I even succumbed to a texturiser at some point but BC’d again and started over when I decided the limp jheri-curled look wasn’t for me. It was only in the past year when I found all the right blogs and forums, cut out all bad ingredients and treated my hair like it deserved to be- no dry combing, lots and lots of moisture, etc etc- that it started behaving like it was supposed to. I think hair just reacts to what you do to it. Treat it nicely and it will behave. Be mean to it, and it will rebel.

  9. GiGi permalink
    March 4, 2010 3:31 pm

    As i read this post, i realized myself that i really don’t know my original hair texture! I recently BC’ed after having my hair permed for about 3 yrs. my hair was natural up until sr high school and my mom took care of it mostly. she used to blow dry my hair with a comb dryer so by the time she was done, my hair was basically straight and i hardly ever got to see my hair in the curly state. now that my hair is growing and i haven’t used any heat on it since my BC, i’m gettin kinda excited about how mine will look when it gets to your length (your hair is beautiful btw). I’m glad you found out about your hair’s true curly potential 🙂 now all i have to do is sit and wait…. Ohhh the suspense!!!

    • March 10, 2010 9:19 am

      So much suspense! I totally agree and now that I have a really good sense of what my texture is, now I’m waiting for it to grow and see how it changes as gravity kicks in and gives me some hang….I can already see this a little in the parts around my ears…. do you have a blog/fotki??

      • GiGi permalink
        March 10, 2010 9:17 pm

        😦 Unfortunately, I dont have a blog or anything like that… I’m still debating whether or not i have the time for it… but I am following your blog now, so if I ever start my own, I will let you know 🙂

  10. Rossana permalink
    March 7, 2010 1:45 am

    I love your blog its very inspiring and I can definitely relate as a newly born again natural.. I am having a blast this time around, it’s so much and makes you more confident. Do you not think so?
    Oh yeah a new reader by the way.

Trackbacks

  1. Update on the Knottiness « natural selection

Leave a Reply

