Skip to content

The Naming of the Fro

February 19, 2010
tags: , , ,

I know people are usually focused on TAMING their ‘fro, but here at Natural Selection, I’m all about letting my little ‘fro-thing be who it is and grow into an identity of its own.  So rather than tame the thing, I think I’d like to name the thing!

Let it be known: I love naming things.  I always thought it would be a cool job to work at Crayola and name crayon colors:  Orange Red?  Boring!  More like Pumpkin Blaze! Or Hedonistic Tangerine!  Or [making it relevant] Threat Level Orange-Red!

I would have a field day here...

So as we grow with one and other and know one and other, I think it’s  just fitting and time to choose a name the mass of coils sitting atop my head.  I know that “Poofy” over at Leave it in the Kinks is livin’ large and happy, prolly cause she has a name.  It’s  a matter of respect, really.

But what to name mine…what. to. name. mine?

Here are my thoughts right now:

  • Sue.  As in Curly Sue.  But now that I write it, it makes me think of A.

    Never Saw It. Probably Never Will...

    that movie from ’91 and B. lawsuits.  Maybe not.

  • Threat Level AWESOME!  Inspired by earlier writing in the post.
  • Lola.  Because whatever Lola wants, Lola gets, and baby Lola wants lots of water and products.  And she gets ’em.

But I don’t know… any ideas?  Have you named your hair?  Want to?  Hmmm….decisions decisions decisions….

***UPDATE***

Since originally posting, a few other suggestions have come in.

From my mom:

  • Your Fro-jesty—as in Majesty, Mamajesty  (what she calls herself) and Jermajesty (the name of Jermaine Jackson’s son)
  • Snooki/Sneechies/Sneakers/Snickers – after the infamous Jersey Shore character and her equally infamous hair)

From Fidel:

  • Riz— which we discussed could be elongated into Rizzo.  Inspired by the Spanish word “rizado” meaning ” curly” (But Riz is also the French word for Rice)
  • Caracol – Spanish for “Round”

Fidel also shot down my suggestion of “Chichi” which in Spanish means, um, boobs.  So many things to get lost in translation here!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Aligato permalink
    February 19, 2010 10:53 am

    I’m loving the Lola persona! Not to akin your beautiful bouffant to a kitty toy, but Matzah and Gouda ADORE this brightly colored birdy with plumes of feathers atop her head. Greg and I named her Lola because she is quite the showgirl 😉

  2. February 19, 2010 6:26 pm

    LOL. I have to second Lola. So sexy. It was my first thought and then I got to he comments and saw Aligato’s response. Excellent. lol

    I think sexy Lola the dancehall showgirl as well. lol. Fishnets and stillettos added to added to Aligato’s head feathers. lol

  3. fafoot permalink
    February 20, 2010 7:55 am

    Duh cass….. its gotta be fos.

  4. eml permalink
    February 20, 2010 10:49 am

    fro-yo

    Sassy Cassy

    Big Black Furry Creature from Mars: http://www.phish.net/song/big-black-furry-creature-from-mars

    Count Chocula

    -eml

  5. Foxglove permalink
    February 20, 2010 5:23 pm

    Please for the love of God do not do snooki/any jersey shore names. Have some respect for your hair lol!
    PS my favorite from the list was Lola

  6. February 21, 2010 7:01 pm

    I also vote for Lola. I just named mine Isabella the other day at dinner with a friend. Lol…we’re geeks.

Leave a Reply

