Skip to content

This too shall NOT pass…

February 23, 2010

Today, there was a discussion over at CurlyNikki.com, based on the question of whether or not “going natural” is just a trend or if it’s here to stay.  I’ve actually been mulling over this question myself.  Wondering if we are going to look back at this time with the “wow-I-really-thought-I-was-looking-good-but-what-was-I-thinking???” [horrified] nostalgia of that one uber-trendy style you rocked really hard back in the day.

I sure hope not.

Salt'n'Pepa=90's hair trendsetters

I wanted to put in a Kid n Play pic, but these guys had cooler lines....

So much bang, so little time...

In fact, I’m fairly confident that natural is here to stay.  Ok, yes, technically it’s a hair style and usually hair styles go out of style as quickly as they become popular, but I truly believe that the decision to go natural will endure as a permanent change.

Based on my dabbling (read: unabashed lurking) in the online natural hair world, I can tell you that natural

"Peace Love and Freedom Hair" (from PPR Scribe_)

hair styles are really on the up.  But, we’ve seen this happen before, right?  During the 60’s and 70’s the afro came into style as many people began to wear it as a way of taking pride of their African heritage.  The afro, a symbol of black pride, was a bold style statement to make during the civil rights era, but eventually it too faded away and out of style as that period came to a close.

So why do I think the natural movement now is different? Whereas, the natural movement of the past was about making an en masse statement alongside a social movement, I think that today’s natural movement is a more individualized lifestyle decision based increase in knowledge and awareness.  People are becoming more aware of the adverse affects that chemicals and synthetic processes have on the human body and on our global environment.  For many, including myself, it was the removal of this chemical process from my lifestyle that was the main factor in my decision to go natural.  Sure, you could also say that there is an aspect of the movement that is inspired by the political context of the now with Mr. Obama in the house, but as personal decision I think it is more of the health-motivated reason.

Because today’s natural movement about a lifestyle overhaul, what we are seeing is not a fad or a trend, but is here to stay.  I know that now that I am more aware of the negative effects of relaxers both on my body and on the environment, I really cannot imagine going back to them.  I think that beyond the movement of going natural there are also a lot of other lifestyle changes that people are making right now in response to their greater awareness about their behaviors.  Whether its taking your own bag to a grocery store or swapping your car for a bike some days, all of these decisions are part of a larger movement.  We are a part of a visible moment in history that we will look back upon and see how individuals began to make serious lifestyle changes as a response to a changing world.
In the end, one thing is for certain, being who you are and being true to yourself will never go out of style.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Will permalink
    February 23, 2010 7:29 pm

    You might be overlooking the possibility that technology will advance so that future hair products may allow you to do all of the things synthetic hair care products do to day, but in an environmentally sustainable way and without adverse health effects.

    The logic is sound though – this time, instead of being a mass social movement, it’s a personal choice – much like being a vegetarian.

    • February 24, 2010 12:16 pm

      you’re right. if someone develops and organic relaxer, I might have to eat my words. that said, I’m finding it hard to imagine someone coaxing an avocado oil into being able to do that. but maybe we can go in on some R&D together sometime…it can be a spin of of the Blackwell Gin industries.

      the comparison to vegetarianism is a good call.

  2. Angel permalink
    February 27, 2010 3:08 am

    Natural hair is here to stay and only to be improved upon.

    Natural ladies and gents: I recently came across this great hair and skin line, Chatto, from Youtuber, Crownofhisglory (watch how great her hair comes out on the video at the following link with Chatto’s products, gorgeous)! She had previously done the same style with Jane Carter and her hair did not come out as great as with Chatto’s products.

    Chatto is an all natural product line founded by an African woman who has a salon in Chicago. She specializes in hair growth, balding and skin problems! Check out how Chatto’s wonderful God-inspired, healing products at the provided link and her impressive Bio. 4As and 4Bs will love these products. These products are the Truth!

    The link is: http://chatto.com/haircare/unilocsproducts.html

    Happy Hair Growing!

  3. Benny Boom Boom permalink
    March 4, 2010 2:49 pm

    Uhhh, is the title of this post meant to subtly promote the new, incredibly awesome “OK Go” music video and associated song? Because, if its not, it should be:

    http://nymag.com/daily/entertainment/2010/03/new_ok_go_video.html

  4. onceuponatime permalink
    March 11, 2010 9:59 am

    I used to want that Salt n Pepa style so much, but my hair was never cooperative.. lol. I tried but failed. The best I could do was the doorknockers. ;)~

    “all of these decisions are part of a larger movement..”

    Hear hear..I think so too.

    • March 11, 2010 5:23 pm

      I always wanted the “T.Boz” but could never get it right…. 🙂

      Glad you agree on the movement theory!!

Trackbacks

  1. Redefining Natural « natural selection

Leave a Reply

