Skip to content

Please forgive me, Lola!

March 5, 2010

Sooooo, you know how I mentioned a few posts ago, that I was sliding down the slippery slope of Product Junkieism? And you know how I mentioned in my last post that I received a “couple” products from Afroveda, Darcy’s Botanicals, and Komaza Care? Well, by “couple” I actually meant 11 new potions, cremes, lotions, puddings, butters, stylers, gels,m leave in conditioners and deep treatments.   (Yes, I know I know I know.  But some were free samples, do not judge me!!!!)

And then I also received a new conditioner from a swap that came along with 2 *more* samples.   And then someone sent me a sample of their whipped shea butter from NYC.  So we’re talking a product deluge to the tune of 15 new things to try out.  Because of the way the stars were aligned, all of these things, despite being ordered weeks apart, arrived practically on the same day.

Well, per the fact that I LOVE GETTING STUFF IN THE MAIL and I’d been waiting for over a month to receive some of these products and was really really excited to try them.  So I did what any normal girl would do: I shut myself in my room proceeded to make a lot of bad decisions.

First, I divided my hair into 10 sections and tried each of the products on each section.  Bad idea #1. It was such an oily smelly mess.  I gluttonously felt like a little kid who inhaled all of her halloween candy in one sitting. Then I tried to wash it out with one of my new conditioners. Bad Idea #2. Followed with one of the new Leave In conditioners I got. Bad Idea #3. And then scale down to just 2 new moisturizers and styler. Bad Idea’s 4 & 5.

So all in all, in a matter of 48 hours, Lola had been smothered’n’ covered in 95.67 different combinations of new products. A veritable guinea pig. Dry and frizzy, Lola was worn out and tired and just not at all happy with me.  I think I forced her into an overdose and it wasn’t pretty.  To get her back into shape, I decided to let her be for a few days and set her in 2-strand twists.  And apparently, Lola’s bouncy joy is even lost in THIS style.  “Lola?  She looks more like Lulu…frumpy and a little sad…” said my friend Fidel.

***UPDATE***  apparently, I have the quote wrong.  Fidel didn’t say “frumpy” but ” you like a little kid playing soccer.”

Lola turned Lulu

Ok.  I get it.  No more product extravaganzas.  What made matters worse was that in an effort to try to find things that Lola liked, I was combining a lot of new stuff and never really found out if any of this new stuff worked!  I’ve learned my lesson, I need to be patient (a lot more patient) and really take my time to try things out so I can figure out what works best.

Thanks to the 2-strand twists, its been four days since I’ve really messed around with product concoctions and I’m thinking that Lola and I are ready to be back on good terms.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. March 5, 2010 5:08 pm

    LOL poor Lola…I also think it’s hilarious that we both have names for our fros and refer to them as “shes.” Yesterday I was telling my friend that I’m not sure if Izzy likes Honeysuckle Rose…and I was like, “Yea, I dunno, I think she was mad at me…”

  2. NewRibena permalink
    March 5, 2010 5:59 pm

    Wow – it sounds as if you really did suffer some PJ overdosing, LOL. Don’t feel bad, I did twice as bad after the black Friday sales. Like you, most of my products arrived within days of each other. I gathered them all up, took a photo and then put 90% of it in a tub under the bed. I’ve decided that I cannot open anything new until something else is finished. This has worked very well for me so far

    • March 10, 2010 9:17 am

      thats a GREAT idea!!! I might just have to try it…one thing is for sure is that I’m not buying anything NEW until this stuff is gone. Luckily, most of em are samples and smaller sizes so hopefully I will like some of them (and I’m actually hoping its just one or two) and order larger ones of those so I can avoid this [pricey] mess again!

  3. fafoot permalink
    March 6, 2010 6:38 am

    cassidy! i think your idea was clever and showed tenacity. 😀

Trackbacks

  1. Product Junkie Philanthropy (a.k.a. A Giveaway) « natural selection

Leave a Reply

