Skip to content

Lola Lovin’ [Cherry] Lola!

March 12, 2010

Last night, I decided to get in the kitchen and whip up a lil treat for my lil Lola.  It’s a treatment called The Cherry Lola and is said to reduce frizz and define curls.  The ingredients are yogurt, amino acids (its like a soy sauce, but less sodium, more protein), and baking soda.  When you mix it all together, it makes this really fluffy, but grainy batter that smells like…well…food.  (yes, I tried it.  no, it doesn’t taste great).

Let it sit on my hair for about 10 minutes and rinsed it out using the recommended “pouring method” in which you pour water over your head from a bowl rather than standing beneath the shower.  Apparently, it’s gentler and therefore will preserve your coils better.  In fact, I did not do this the first time and could seriously tell the difference.  Kinda reminded me of getting my hair done over the sink as a little girl.  (MOM!  Maybe we can relive the memories and you can rinse out Lola’s  Cherry Lola next time I’m home, eh? eh? 10-to-1 she is NOT sold on this offer)

Immediately upon putting it on my head, I could see my curls getting plumper.  When I rinsed, they stayed the same AND they were super moisturized.  Left a little bit of conditioner in there and was out the door!

I have to say, I’m a big fan and I think Lola and her Lolitas are too!!!  Once again proving that some of the best hair stuff comes right from the kitchen!!!

Birds Eye

Happy Lola Happy Me!

Side Shot

Curly Detail

10 Comments leave one →
  1. Mamajesty permalink
    March 12, 2010 2:05 pm

    Even before I read your predication for my response, I was typing NO WAY! Not in this life time girlfriend! Been there, done THAT… and then some!
    Mamajesty

  2. Mr. Big Shot permalink
    March 12, 2010 5:18 pm

    Her Lolitas?

  3. Mr. Big Shot permalink
    March 12, 2010 5:19 pm

    Hey, what the — how did your blog get my color picture? Sneaksy!

  4. KinkyLover! permalink
    March 24, 2010 6:12 pm

    Wow! Your curls look GREAT!!!! I’m gonna def have to try this! And where would you find amino acids? And how often do you do this?

    • March 25, 2010 11:47 am

      Ideally i’d be doing this about once a week….but I havent yet this week 🙂

      So amino acids, look for the name brand BRAGG’S and you can usually find it at an organic grocery store, or a health food store… also check online because there are a lot of online retailers that carry it too. good luck and let me know how it goes!

  5. KinkyLover! permalink
    March 26, 2010 4:33 pm

    Thanks! Will do

  6. Vera permalink
    March 28, 2010 10:25 am

    Wow! Those curls look luscious! Guess what? I just happen to have a big ol’ bottle of Bragg’s Liquid Aminos LOL! Can’t wait to try 🙂

  7. fnggrant permalink
    April 15, 2010 10:50 pm

    Was Lola still moisturized after she dried?

Leave a Reply

