Skip to content

A Mid-March Resolution

March 25, 2010

Braids:   They’re practical.  They’re low maintenance. They’re summery.  They’re versatile.  They’re beautiful works of art.   They keep your hands out of your hair letting it do its thing and just GROW.

But the sad reality that I’m facing is that I can’t do them.  Sure, a simple plait I can do just fine, but beyond that theres french braids, micro braids, cornrows, goddess braids, tree braids all of which I haven’t the faintest idea of how to do.   And with my hair type, it’s recently come to my attention that I really should!

French Braid Spony Style

Goddess Braids

Teeny Weeny Microbraids (I've never had the patience to get these, nor do I think I ever will....)

I mean, we’re talking the complete lack of a serious life skill!  And right now, as I focus on growing my hair out and retaining its length, the ability to do protective styles such as braids so as to minimize manipulation of my strands is capital c CROOSH!

So, let it be known on this day, the 25th of March 2010, I HEREBY PLEDGE TO LEARN HOW TO CORNROW!

I wish I had come to this realization when I was younger and had still had a

Not my doll, but coulda/shoulda been!

posse of Barbies and dolls on which to practice.  But I don’t.  So I’m going to learn on me and it will be a challenge that I know will prove difficult because of that whole back-of-my-head-where-I-can’t-see issue.  That said, I know so many people do it and there is no reason I cant.

Any videos, tips, tricks, words of encouragement you have would be greatly appreciated.  Keep tuned for my updates as I take on the almighty CORNROW!!

Here I come!

Suhweet Fro'n'Row Style

20 Comments leave one →
  1. TMS permalink
    March 25, 2010 2:29 pm

    It’s so funny you should post this because I decided to buy the barbie doll head for practice. LOL

    • March 25, 2010 2:40 pm

      lol—I guess its not too late to be buying barbies…probably for the better to practice on it before I start messing TOO much with my hair 🙂

  2. March 25, 2010 2:31 pm

    Pshhh…when you learn…help me learn!! I’ve been wanting to cornrow for YEARS. I don’t think my fingers are nimble enough, lol!

    • March 25, 2010 2:41 pm

      maybe you should hop on the bandwagon! annnnd didn’t you say you wanted to braid up for the summer???

  3. Karen permalink
    March 25, 2010 3:11 pm

    I’ve always wanted to learn how to braid all those nice fancy styles, but braids just don’t look as pretty on my hair. If it was all one length, sure … but with layered super straight hair, it just looks like little black pins sticking out everywhere.

    Anywho, love the goal, love the post … and love the word CROOSH! … soo CROOSHALL!

  4. Mamajesty permalink
    March 26, 2010 7:28 am

    Yeah, good luck with that one sista gurl! After the hundreds and possibly thousands of dollars I spent buying you barbie dolls and PJ Sparkle, I will not be contributing to this next endeavor. Maybe Skya will let you practice on her.
    Mamajesty

  5. Vera permalink
    March 28, 2010 8:00 am

    First off…. I just noticed the link to your blog in your signature on CurlTalk a few moments ago. I’m gonna love this blog!!
    I can’t cornrow to save my life either, but like HB, I don’t think my fingers are nimble like that lol! I can throw a French Braid in on both sides of my hair, but go smaller than that and side by side and there’s no way! It’s that whole angle of the hands thing that throws me way off the map!! For now though, I’m concentrating on getting Flat-Twists down 🙂

  6. March 28, 2010 3:21 pm

    Beautiuful. Goddess braids are a great protective style. I gotta get out and get somone to to ’em for me though, cuz the kid has no patience!

    – savvy
    http://savvybrown.com

  7. March 28, 2010 3:21 pm

    I just noticed I’m on your blogroll! THANK YOU!!!

    -savvy
    http://savvybrown.com

    • March 30, 2010 8:46 am

      you’re welcome! and I really am jonsin for some goddess braids….

  8. March 29, 2010 12:06 pm

    I’m right there with you! I have decided that I too will learn how to braid my hair summer. My Mom and my cousins used to be my go-to’s but neither of them are up to the hours that my hair usually takes. Maybe we can swap tips at the meet-up.

  9. yourfaceandyourmom permalink
    March 29, 2010 4:01 pm

    what’s the point of getting braids and having natural hair when you used to get braids without natural hair? TRAITOR.

    also, if i were you, i’d just let someone else do my braids.

    and. have you ever thought of a braid mullet? natural in front, braid in back? DO IT.

    • March 30, 2010 8:48 am

      Bibi—

      arent bangs just a stylie way of having a mullet??? Think about it.

      If I can cornrow, can I do yours? You’ll look like Howie D from the Backstreet Boys circa ’98! HOT!

  10. March 30, 2010 5:24 am

    I’m all for the “Suhweet Fro’n’Row Style” – that would look great on you Cass!

  11. April 15, 2010 7:22 am

    I feel you on this. I’ve been asking myself for a while now….why didn’t you learn how to braid?? I guess I just need to make a pledge myself and make it happen. I’m definitely getting some braids at one point in time this summer (done by the hairstylist or my lil’ cuz until I really know what I’m doing).

  12. Lakeisha permalink
    June 15, 2010 2:54 pm

    I am in the exact same boat! The most I can do is 2-strand twists and I still trying to decrease the amount of time it takes for me to do that (getting close to about 2 hours now). I went home and let one of my aunts do it and she twisted my hair in 25 mins flat (guess that’s what happens when you have 2 grown daughters). I just can’t figure out how I’m supposed to get the back done neatly…guess I’ll be going to others to braid my hair for now 😦

Leave a Reply

