Skip to content

“giiiirl, WHAT happened to your hair???!???”

March 30, 2010

Last week, all puffed up and jazzed about Operation Cornrow, I decided that my first step towards Cornrow-dom would be to try a set of flat-twists.  Basically, flat twists are similar to a cornrow in that they “attach” to your head, but instead of using three strands to do a braid, you use two strands and do a twist that lays flat therefore creating a FLAT TWIST.

I watch a couple youtube videos on the  Curly Chronicles channel and though “ok, seems easy enough.  I got this.”

Finished Flat Twists Example

Flat Twist Out Example--- Really cute, right???

Went home and before going to bed, set out on flat twisting my hair.  I was able to get in seven flat twists.  I have to say that doing the one on the direct back of my head was really difficult, but I found that the trick was not to look in the mirror while doing it because the opposite side/reflection thing kept messing me up.

When all was said and done.  I thought they looked pretty good.

My Finished Flat Twists

Birds Eye View of My Flat Twists

Went to bed.  Went to work.  Went to the bathroom to change out of my bike clothes and untwist.

My hair definitely looked like it had been twisted.  Unfortunately, it looked like that twisting had been done by a tornado or something.  But I decided to put in some bobby pins and a flower clip and just rock it.

As I walked into my office, I stopped by my coworker/friend/third eye Fidel’s desk and say good morning.  Instead of returning the morning salutation, he looked at me wide-eyed and exclaimed “GIIIIIIIIIRL!  WHAT DID YOU DO TO YOUR HAIR!?!?!?!?!?”  I casually explained the flat twists and how it was supposed to look and that I was learning yada yada yada.    “Well maybe you should stop trying to learn on week days…”, he suggested.

I slunk back to my desk, but I could just feel my hair sticking out in a weird, triangular formation. The smooth waves that I had attempted to create resembled more the shape of electrocuted strips of bacon.  Five minutes later, I was back in the bathroom with a spray bottle and more bobby pins getting Lola back to normal.

Recovered Lola.

Flat Twist: FAIL.  BUT!  I will not give up, I think the more that I do this, the steadier my hands will become and the better the twists will be.  It actually is really helpful to master these because they use the same concept of “adding hair” into the twist.  I think the main issue is that did my twists too large for the length of my hair.  Next time I try this out (ON A WEEKEND, I GET IT!) I’ll go for smaller flat twists.  For now, I’m going to let Lola have a break, so that her, my, and Fidelito’s trauma wears off.

…stay tuned for the next chapter in Operation Cornrow…

18 Comments leave one →
  1. March 30, 2010 9:36 am

    “Maybe you should stop trying to learn on weekdays…” SHUTUP LMAO that is sooo funny! That’s why I’m afraid to try all that stuff, I’m sure I’d just mess it up!

    • March 30, 2010 10:47 am

      i know… poor lola, always winds up raggedy and sad after these experiments. thats why I just want to learn how to do protective styles *perfectly* so I can just leave her be!

  2. Fidel permalink
    March 30, 2010 10:59 am

    It was not my intention to hurt you or Lola…verbally, emotionally and/or physically (by touching Lola only of course)
    My sincere apologies…with that said, I still think Lola needs to be practiced on during the weekends only and not as often! Poor Lola needs a break and I think she is overwhelmed…”she is not a girl, not yet a woman”! I understand that it has been and will be a long process of understanding Lola and what she can do for you. It is a hate-love relationship between you two but I know things will work out just fine. Hang in there Cassidy and Lola!!!

    • March 30, 2010 11:22 am

      you know, fidelito—- Lola is a tough lil girl. If she can withstand the wrath of my styling whims, she can certainly stand up to your words. Besides, it seems as though you were only trying to protect her….. and it is rather funny…..

      🙂

  3. Jackie permalink
    March 30, 2010 1:11 pm

    Great first attempt but indeed the twists were much too large for the length of your hair. I find it also helps to use a product that will help set the twists (gel, cream, butter). I only use the mirror to check the accuracy of my parts as it is totally confusing to twist will looking in the mirror. Don’t feel bad…I can do a fierce cornrow but that flat twisting just gets my fingers in knots and takes me twice as long. Perhaps I’ll join you and work on my twists too.

    • April 5, 2010 4:51 pm

      interesting that you have more trouble with the flat twists than cornrows….I guess I just figured that using 2 instead of 3 strand would be easier….

      • NewRibena permalink
        April 5, 2010 5:48 pm

        I guess it’s because I’ve been doing cornrows for over 30 years so they come to me instinctively whereas flat twists feel foreign to my hands and take way too much thought…

  4. Lurker permalink
    April 1, 2010 8:51 am

    omg I’m cracking up at your coworker’s comments. I do all my experiments on the weekend now. Good thing bc I have been known to walk around looking questionable in the past as a victim of my own experiments

  5. April 2, 2010 6:01 pm

    Awww.Lola doesn’t look that bad! I can’t do flat twists either, so I stick to regular two-strand twists.. Practice makes perfect, don’t give up I’m rootin’ for ya! 😉

    – savvy
    http://savvybrown.com

  6. April 6, 2010 1:07 pm

    Cassadie, this is hilarious!!! Mostly, because I have “experimented” on the weekdays and it is never a good idea. But sometimes you just get so excited and you want to try something out.

    Well, I learned my lesson 2 weeks ago. I was “experimenting” with Kinky Curly Custard and a moisturizing product on a weekday and it was an absolute FAIL. I got all these white flecks since KCCC is finnicky about playing nice with other hair products. And so I had to start all over again (I’ve got a TWA so no biggie really), but I’m running late and I hope in the shower to rewet my hair and I fall… badly. There was still Aussie Moist conditioner in the tub I guess from my shower and everyone who has tried that conditioner knows, it has great ‘slip’… well, yes it certainly does.

    I have now stopped practicing during the week… well at least for now! 🙂 The recovered Lola looks great!!!

    • April 6, 2010 2:08 pm

      You know! We’re always looking for condish with slip…looks like you got it literally (and now I’m gonna go out and buy some to try… lol)

      I’ve had that issue with KCCC and Shea Butter… the mixture turned WHITE after a couple hours of drying @ the office. Happens to the best of us 🙂

  7. April 7, 2010 3:19 am

    Hi Lola:

    I found you on Curly Nikki. This made me laugh! I was thinking of trying flat twists too, but definitely on the weekend. This past weekend I tried a new product and I ended up washing my hair three times to get my hair to look good! So glad I didn’t try it on a week day! : )

    P.S. I love your hair!

  8. April 7, 2010 3:23 am

    Just noticed that your name is Cassadie, not Lola. Oops! But, hey, let’s just pretend I was talking to your hair in that last comment : )

  9. Monique permalink
    April 12, 2010 6:52 pm

    lol:) I’m just glad to know that I’m not the only one that keeps bobby pins and hair clips at my desk for those days when my hair does not want to cooperate:)

  10. April 15, 2010 7:28 am

    Recovered Lola looks great. Like the flower.

Trackbacks

  1. What about Lola? « natural selection
  2. Are 2-Strand Twists Worth It? « natural selection

Leave a Reply

