Skip to content

Future RetrO

April 13, 2010

We all know that special occasions require special preparation.  A special outfit, special shoes, and perhaps even a special hair do.  This past weekend, I attended a an especially spectacular event called Yuri’s Night: a 12-hour long music/science/crazytime party held at none other than NASA.  Yes, NASA.

So Lola and I had a lot of prep to do to get ourselves gussied up and ready for this space-aged adventure.  The result:  disco diva + David Bowie + interplanetary glam, or a head-to-toe style affectionately deemed by my party posse as FUTURE RETRO!

One of the key highlights of this costumal glory is Lola who got pinned up into a FRO-HAWK. With a lot of bobby pins and a little bit of gel, Lola was 100% in party mode in this style (thanks Misskrisnew!!!)

But I wasn’t the only one with Fro-Hawk on the mind.  I even [creepily] asked this unsuspecting teenage boy if I could take a pic of him in fro-hawk solidarity.

Because I felt like an extra-stellar version of myself rockin a fro-hawk, I can promise you that this style will be a keeper and not just reserved for annual soirees at NASA.

Performances by N.E.R.D., Common, Les Claypool, and The Black Keys were main highlights of the day…and a 10-person disco’ed out limo ride back to SF and a game of leap frog were highlights of the evening.  All in all–it was a spacily stellar time had by all!

Pharrell Rockin Out N.E.R.D. Style

Blast Off!!!

11 Comments leave one →
  1. April 13, 2010 10:25 am

    I super duper love it!

  2. Savannah permalink
    April 13, 2010 11:47 am

    That sounds awesome! How did you get invited to that?

  3. April 13, 2010 12:15 pm

    This is the coolest party I’ve ever heard of! Your hair looks great 🙂

    • April 14, 2010 1:53 pm

      thank you! and I would definitely say its one of the cooler parties I’ve been to…good thing it happens every year!!

  4. yourfaceandyourmom permalink
    April 13, 2010 12:25 pm

    teenage boy. typical.
    love the do! now you just need to try the Frullet!

  5. fafoot permalink
    April 13, 2010 7:04 pm

    looks great shady.

  6. April 14, 2010 6:09 am

    Wow! Wow! Wow! Those stretchy pants are amazing! Do you still have them, or did you trade up at the party?

    • April 14, 2010 1:52 pm

      now that I have them, I will never release my kung fu grip on these pants. unless someone approaches me with another pair of far superior/more awesome pants to trade with…. hey…its happened!

  7. secret lover permalink
    April 14, 2010 2:23 pm

    Your ass is a spaceship that I want to ride!

Leave a Reply

