Skip to content

Naughty, Knotty Lola!!!

April 15, 2010

About once a week or so for the past few weeks, I’ve been noticing a trend of little knots at the back of my head, near the nape of my neck.  From my childhood I remember this area, affectionately called the kitchen by my Nana, was always one of the most difficult to comb through, often the most snarled.  So this is the way a natural kitchen must be, I thought, a few knots here and there…ain’t no thang, so I just took a scissor and carefully cut them out.

Then this morning, after biking to work, I was doing my daily spritz’n’shake out in the bathroom when I peered in the mirror and noticed FIVE of these little knots!!!!  My mind started racing:  “maybe this isn’t normal?  Maybe Lola is telling me she wants to be in dreds instead of free?  OMG! IM NOT LOL’ING! WTH!!????!!!! 😦 😦 :-/

(yes, sometimes I do think in internet speak and emoticons)

!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Up Close and Knotty

Then my eyes wandered to my biking gear and perched luxuriously on top was my black pashmina…and it clicked.  I live in San Francisco where the ever present cool temperatures call for an ever present scarf around my neck.  I love my extensive collection of scarves and pashminas:  they’re colorful, they’re versatile, and they keep me warm as a pedal and adventure my way around town.  But now I’m thinking that my trusty neck gear might be causing a lot of friction at the back of my neck and making Lola knot right up.  And the longer Lola gets, the more knots I suspect will pop up.  The worst part is that while the rest of the country looks forward to summer for the hot temperatures and sunshine, June and July are some of the chilliest months of the year here.  As Oscar Wilde once said “the coldest winter I spent was a summer in San Francisco.”  REAL TALK, Mr. Wilde.  Real. Talk.  It’s never NOT scarf season!   I always always always wear scarves!!!!

Abandoning the creamy crack in order to achieve a healthy head of hair was one thing, but ditching my scarves??!???!!!!  This is quite another.  I’ve removed the knots from this morning, but I really have no desire to be wielding a pair of scissors around Lola on such a frequent basis.

Au revoir, knots!

Ok.  Here’s the resolution:  a one-week, scarf-free trial run to see if any more knots appear.  If they don’t, my theory is correct and I’m going to have to permanently reasses my favorite accessory.  If not, welp, back to the guessing game.

:::sigh::: my neck is already cold….

13 Comments leave one →
  1. Thiago permalink
    April 15, 2010 12:31 pm

    That’s the whole point of natural hair, don’t fight those knots. Embrace them!

    • April 15, 2010 1:39 pm

      but one knot turns into five…five into 20…and the next thing you know, I’ll have shoulder length dreds! 🙂

  2. Tracy permalink
    April 15, 2010 3:03 pm

    Have you thought of a neck warmer? It’s like a mini scarf for your neck: http://knitty.com/ISSUEwinter07/PATTtudora.html

    • April 19, 2010 2:28 pm

      these are super cute! but I think they would cause the same issues…. :-/

  3. fnggrant permalink
    April 15, 2010 10:35 pm

    Girl, you may need to keep your head still. Pretend your wearing a neck brace…lol. You could check to see if knots are forming when you take the scarf off, that way you can get them before they totally knot up. I need to name my hair…(thinking)

  4. April 16, 2010 12:34 pm

    I used to have that problem with necklaces while my hair was growing out. That section was always getting caught on something and I just stopped wearing necklaces for a while. I love scarves too and now that they’ve grown out, it’s not a problem any more. :]

    There is light at the end of the knotted tunnel.. LOL

  5. Savannah permalink
    April 19, 2010 12:46 pm

    What are your scarves/pashminas made of? Silk is much more gentle on hair then cotton or wool. You may not have to abandon your neck wear completely!

  6. April 20, 2010 8:51 am

    I think @savannah may be on to something… maybe silk scarves. Although silk scarves don’t keep you as warm. Lola is growing beautifully!

    • April 20, 2010 9:55 am

      @ Savannah and Roxy— the pashminas are made of cashmere which is a wool. silk is a great idea! I think raw silk would be warm, but also might continue to snag because of its texture. Perhaps I’ll test one out when my scarf-free week is over! thanks!

  7. onceuponatime permalink
    April 23, 2010 10:47 am

    Hrm.. let me put on my thinking cap for this one. Maybe you could wear a smooth silk scarf underneath your warm pashmina? Also more frequent detangling might be in order, just to be safe.

    • April 30, 2010 11:32 am

      I have a feeling that more frequent detangling is going to be the answer here….but I’ll report back! 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. Update on the Knottiness « natural selection
  2. A Good Kind of Hair Loss « natural selection

Leave a Reply

