Skip to content

A Big Chop Surprise!

April 30, 2010

This is Keisha.

Naturally Brunchin'

Product Swappin'

We met at the Bay Area Natural’s Brunch on Saturday April 19th.  As you can see from these pictures taken at the aforementioned Brunch affair, Keisha was rocking a beautiful set of Senagalese Twists.  This intricate, yet simple, style is similar to a braid except that it uses only 2 strands to create a long free-flowing twist.  What’s especially great is that this style can last up to three months with proper up-keep.  Keisha’s definitely were in good shape and even inspired me to perhaps try out the style for the summer….

So imagine my surprise when I received an email from Keisha just a few days after the Brunch asking about my Big Chop experience at Sassy Salon in San Francisco where she had scheduled a hair cut for that Saturday!  Was she just oh-so inspired by the meet-up that she had decided to take down the twists and rock her natural hair out I asked?  Turns out the answer was YES.  I met up with Keisha right after her appointment for a lil Big Chop celebration.  Over dinner of crepes in the Mission District of SF we talked hair, regimens, products, and life after college in SF. All in all, I think she was happy and confident with the new style!

And then in a blaze of glory (shame?) I flushed my phone down the toilet.  Yes, all the way down.  Seriously.  I know.  The universe works in mysterious ways, but now, with my newfangled intelligence phone, I am [finally] an active member of the 21st century .  (Interestingly/questionably/sadly, getting rid of my 6-year old candy bar nokia and getting a smartphone is probably on the top of my mom’s list of things I’ve done to make her proud. )

But doesn’t Keisha look great?  Congrats on the chop, lady!!

WOO!!!

HOO!

10 Comments leave one →
  1. Tracy permalink
    April 30, 2010 10:40 am

    Congratulations!!!!

  2. April 30, 2010 10:41 am

    She looks great! Her smile is lighting up her face, love it!

  3. April 30, 2010 12:41 pm

    yaaaaay Keisha! Can’t wait to see her growth after the BAA challenge on CurlyNikki.com

  4. April 30, 2010 3:47 pm

    I love her smile!! She looks gorgeous & so happy…very infectious;-)

  5. Mamajesty permalink
    April 30, 2010 4:12 pm

    Beautiful! Absolutely one of my favorite stories. Congrats!

    p.s. The smartphone acquisition may have cracked the top 3 things that you have done that I am most proud of! 😉

  6. MiA permalink
    April 30, 2010 4:39 pm

    WoW!

  7. Denise permalink
    April 30, 2010 6:15 pm

    Congrats Keisha!!!!

  8. Fatemeh permalink
    April 30, 2010 10:43 pm

    You look great!!

  9. Paula permalink
    May 4, 2010 3:36 pm

    Congrats Keisha, you look beautiful!

  10. Amma Mama permalink
    May 9, 2010 1:04 pm

    She’s so prettty!!!!

Leave a Reply

