Skip to content

Morning After Disaster

May 6, 2010

These are three words that no one ever likes to hear uttered in the same sentence.  Never ever ever.  And let me tell you, its not particularly pleasant to have a disaster sitting on the top of your head in the morning.

Yesterday, I was feeling great: Lola was in a chunky fro, it looked good, she was happy, I was happy, and I got a lot of compliments.  I was so puffed up with confidence of executing this new style on a weekday that I was already planning on what new style I was going to try next week.  Now here’s where the issue begins: I should have been focusing on the next day not the next week.

In an effort to maintain the chunky fro, I put my hair in big braids and secured with bobby pins to go to bed (please note, NO rollers).  Woke up in the morning, took out the braids, fluffed it out and looked in the mirror.  “#$%^#$!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!”, I said.

My stretched out curls were practically straight and rather than hanging down I had huge sections of hair standing up straight perpendicular to my head.  I looked electrocuted.  I looked disheveled.  I looked crazy.  I LOOKED LIKE SIDESHOW BOB!

Sideshow Bob (aka. ME at 7:00am PST)

I pushed my hair down and it just popped right back up.  In a flurry of  bobby-pin-origami, I tried to make up a new updo.  Massive Fail.  Then I decided that I would try an cute style I’ve done before: The Cinnabun.

Lola in a Cinnabun a few months ago

After 40 minutes (!!!!) of wrangling my hair into this style I was about to leave, looked in the mirror and decided that this also looked terrible.

So there I am hopping around in socks and underwear shoving oatmeal in my mouth and messing around with hair accessories when I’m supposed to be leaving for work.  Lola was not happy.  I wasn’t happy.  Lots of important stuff going on today.  Not at all a good situation.

I was about to hop in the shower and just let my curls shrink back up, but I decided to reach for my spray bottle.

And oh my god it WORKED!  The little Lolitas started to pop right back into their boing boing curl form, while retaining a lot of their stretch.  A miracle!  Water!  All I needed was water.  I AM LIKE  AN EFFING BONSAI TREE!

But whatever, it worked.  Crisis averted.  Lesson learned AGAIN: don’t go chasing waterfalls (braid outs) on weekdays, stick to the rivers and the lakes that you’re used to (wash’n’go fro’s).

11 Comments leave one →
  1. May 6, 2010 9:28 am

    Thanks for sharing!

  2. May 6, 2010 9:30 am

    Oh no!!!! I’m glad it worked out in the end!

  3. Tracy permalink
    May 6, 2010 11:22 am

    Hilarious! Sideshow Bob too funny. In the end, Lola did her thang and all is well.

  4. Ada permalink
    May 6, 2010 12:22 pm

    You know its funny anytime I read your post about hair and some challenges you face I can always relate. My hair is similar to yours except the diameter of my boingg boing is much smaller. I realize that those of us with coily hair have totally different outcomes when a style is done compared to other naturals

    just like you, I had a perfect curly afro one day. In an attempt to preserve it for the next morning, I put them in big braids for night. the next morming, talk about epic fail. straight ends everywhere, looked like I had heat damage.

    what I have learnt? to preserve the hair style, before you lay to rest for thenight get some bands (I like goody) and grab big sections of hair and pack them with your band. you dont need to tie the bands through the vertical of your hair. just make sure the bottom is secure. kinda like the styles mothers do for their daughters. yeah I look like a 12year old after. but who cares I am going to sleep.

    this methods preserves you coils from smooching to your scalp. and stretches it a bit. especially if you tie bigger sections. I usually have about five to six sections and I have about 6inches of hair length. I wake up in the morning, lightly spray on the ends with my concoction of aloe vera, coconut oil, conditioner and water. and then take of the bands, shake shake shake and I am ready to go. my hair last me for a bot fourto five days with this method

    Be careful not to band to tight so your edges do not fall off. be gentle

    if you must braid, which i guess will give you more stretching than the above method. then you’ll have to do this to avoid straight ends the next morning: when you get to the ends while braiding, lightly dampen the ends, apply your favorite sealant (shea butter.e.tc)and then either smooth with your hand, a brush or a comb. Proceeed to twist the ends or twirl them around with your finger. this will give you some nice coilies at the ends when you take out the braids the next morning…
    you can do dampen-sealing-smoothing part before you start braiding. which ever is more convenient for you

    • May 11, 2010 8:25 am

      This is a good suggestion! Thanks for sharing…I’ll have to try it sometime when im feeling adventurous [again]….

      Lol @ looking like a 12 year old before going to be! Looking like a dork while sleeping is something I totally got over 🙂

      But its true, I do think that having such tight tiny coils is an obstacle when perfecting other styles (especially w/o heat first, which I won’t do…)

  5. LaToya permalink
    May 7, 2010 4:14 am

    Wheeeeew! I’m so glad it turned out well for you. I’ll definitely keep this in mind for future use when my hair gets longer.

  6. Fatemeh permalink
    May 7, 2010 7:50 am

    As I was reading this post, I was saying “grab a spray bottle!!” and then you did. That sucker comes in handy. I also use it when I have a failed style. The end result is the bomb girl, so cute!!

  7. RYL1 permalink
    May 7, 2010 12:02 pm

    Hey Cassadie!

    Why did my daughter just call me Side Show Bob?!? I was not amused! 😉
    I love your blog and your hair is beautiful!

    Yes, water does get the problem solved!

  8. April permalink
    May 14, 2010 8:33 am

    I’m still trying to master the braid-out myself

  9. FemmeFox permalink
    May 14, 2010 1:11 pm

    Yaaaaaaaaaaaay for water! That is one of the best things about being Natural imo, water can make everyday a good hair day.

  10. June 11, 2010 12:30 pm

    LOL. Someone said my hair looked like Side Show Bob’s the other day. I just let it do whatever it does though. No biggie. I agree with Ada about the shea on the ends. When I use shealoe or Oyin’s Whipped Pudding on my ends before twisting my hair at night there is a big difference and it’s definitely less Sideshow Bob-ish.

Leave a Reply

