Skip to content

Product Junkie Philanthropy WINNER

May 7, 2010

Thank you to all of you who sent in your submissions to the PJ Philanthropy Giveaway for a jar of the Qhemet Biologics Burdock Root Cream.  The decision was difficult as there were so many lessons learned that resonated with me and my experiences as well as those that I have yet to learn (but now I know to keep an eye out!).

Congratulations to MONIQUE!  (::The Price is Right Music starts playing:::  doo doo dee dooo…doo doo dee doooo) YOU HAVE WON A BRAND NEW DINETTE SET!  And by dinette set, I obviously mean a jar of the Burdock Root Butter Cream!

Monique wrote:

“The most important thing I’ve learned from my hair is that she loves WATER!!!
When I was relaxed I use to shy away from water like it was kryptonite or something that would turn me to stone..lol.
If I’m having an off second/next day hair, here’s comes water to the rescue. I have 4a/4b hair texture and yes it shrinks but that doesn’t bother me. Its just a new way to rock my hair for that day!”

Very true.  And I think learning the importance of water is the maintenance of natural hair is crucial.  Water *not products* is the ultimate moisturizer.  Without it, you will not be able to achieve a healthy head of hair.  Equally important is the consumption of water.  Hydrate from the inside out by drinking plenty of water.  Cliche yes, but srsly- do it.
And now that I have your attention and we’re on the topic of hair and water, let’s talk about that oil “spill” (I say “spill” because its not as much “spilling” as “gushing out uncontrollably”).  I came across this fascinating video about a non-profit here in SF called Matter of Trust that is using a unique approach to helping clean up this mess by using none other than HAIR.   Check out this video and if you’re planning on cutting, chopping, taking out that (real not synthetic) weave, or brushing your pet you should absolutely donate to this cause.  Heck, you can even donate those shed hairs to help save the baby seals!!!!!!
3 Comments leave one →
  1. May 7, 2010 8:19 am

    I’m so excited!! I can’t believe I won, I never win but hey…things are looking up! Lol

    Thank you so much, doll!

    You made an excellent point about water for the inside and out. Many gals go out and are looking for a “magic in bottle” product to help them with their skin and/or hair. Not realizing that one of the best things you can do for both is keep yourself hydrated.

    Water helps flush out a TON of impurities in the skin which will result in clearer, healthier skin and using water on your hair will keep it moisturized.

    I talk more about hair/skin/beauty and fitness on my YouTube channel, please feel free to go check it out. If you like what you see please subscribe.
    Thanks again!! Yaaaay!!
    Take care
    ♥ Monique
    http://www.mzsweetsmile83.blogspot.com/
    http://springsoflove.typepad.com/my-blog/

  2. May 7, 2010 8:25 am

    I just watched the video, and I will be looking them up to do some volunteering. Thanks for sharing, doll!
    Take care
    ♥ Monique
    http://youtube.com/mzsweetsmile83
    http://www.mzsweetsmile83.blogspot.com/
    http://springsoflove.typepad.com/my-blog/

  3. Fatemeh permalink
    May 7, 2010 10:32 pm

    Congrats Monique!

Leave a Reply

