Skip to content

Sweet Tat, Man.

May 10, 2010

There I was, minding my own and enjoying a bloody mary while waiting for some friends at a bar yesterday afternoon when a man, also enjoying his own tomato-based spicy bevvy, starting giving me the eye.  “Here we go…” I thought to myself.  In a city known for eccentrics, I waited for his crazy babbling to start.    3…2…1….

“My mermaid has your hair,” he said to me nonchalantly.

“Pardon?”, I calmly replied.

“My. MER-MAID. Has. YOUR. HAIR!  See?” he spelled out for me in spoken staccato and pointed to his arm.

I looked down and sure enough, His. MER-MAID. Had. MY. HAIR.

On a tattoo that covered the whole of this man’s forearm was a mermaid.  But instead of the flowing strawberry blonde locks that we’re used to seeing in movies (Splash! The Little Mermaid!), his mermaid was inked with a beautifully regal curly fro!  My hair indeed!   I should have asked if her name was Lola…


I’ve seen natural hair in photography, painting, and murals; but a full on permanent homage to the ‘fro on in the form of body art was definitely a first!

9 Comments leave one →
  1. May 10, 2010 2:31 pm

    It’s very detailed!

  2. Rhonda permalink
    May 10, 2010 2:37 pm

    Thanks for sharing. The tat is beautiful. Never seen that before!

  3. Tracy permalink
    May 10, 2010 2:44 pm

    Love it!

  4. Mr. Big Shot permalink
    May 10, 2010 3:04 pm

    Sooo… and then what happened?!!

  5. May 10, 2010 3:16 pm

    How cool is this!!!

  6. Fatemeh permalink
    May 10, 2010 6:26 pm

    Loving it!!

  7. maturenatural permalink
    May 11, 2010 5:46 am

    Wow, a mermaid with a fro. Love it!.

  8. May 11, 2010 7:47 am

    That was unexpected, but remarkable all the same. :]

  9. May 12, 2010 6:08 am

    That’s awesome! I’m sure he must’ve felt just a wee bit proud…lol

Leave a Reply

