Skip to content

Bad Habit Broken

May 18, 2010

A few posts ago, I was having a fantastic hair day.  And to share my great hair day with you all, I took a few pictures, one of which was whilst I was peddling to work on my bike.  Many of you noticed that I was not wearing my helmet in this picture, and rightfully called me out for doing so in the comments section.

On bike en route to work....

Confession: if I am having a good hair day (such as in the aforementioned post) or if my hair is wet, I don’t wear a helmet for biking.  Is it a smart idea to sacrifice safety just to let Lola enjoy some natural blow drying and/or sunshine?  Absolutely not.  But these good hair day>safety occasions were rare so I let the helmet thing slide.

That is, until last Friday.

I had wanted to wash my hair that morning before work, but woke up late/was lazy so I didn’t, if I had, this post would be very different and potentially non-existent.  So I went through my morning routine: ate my oatmeal, packed my backpack, put a silk scarf over Lola, buckled up my helmet, pressed play on the ipod, and was out the door.  About 7 blocks from my house, I was descended an extremely steep hill at about 30mph, like I do every morning.  Unlike every other morning, a mom and her young son and his friend decided to jaywalk across the street without looking both ways.  Before I knew it BAM! Collision!  I’m flipping over my handle bars, landing on my side, skidding along the pavement and slamming my *helmeted* head against the pavement.  The next few hours were a blur of cops, sirens, a stint in the emergency room and lots of bandages.  In the end, aside from a bunch of bruises, cuts, and road rash, nothing too serious came of the bike crash, but it was plenty scary.  The paramedics insisted that my helmet had saved me from incurring serious injuries as they had seen one too many fatal collisions at that intersection, all involving helmet-less cyclists.

My arm in a splint. Not having access to your thumb is a huge hassle fyi.

So guess who is not riding sans helmet ever again?  This gal.  Not worth it, even on a good hair day.  Besides, I go to great lengths to protect Lola from damage (ie. not combing, only using natural products, avoiding silicones, wrapping her up at night) and therefore it only makes sense to protect her with a helmet while I ride.

19 Comments leave one →
  1. May 18, 2010 12:19 pm

    Sounds like a nasty accident. I’m soooo glad you are okay!

  2. nerman permalink
    May 18, 2010 12:22 pm

    thank goodness this conclusion came out of this story. we, your dear and devoted readers, look forward to many more posts, so keep up those safety habits.

    the more you knooooowwwww…

  3. May 18, 2010 12:54 pm

    God had you covered from the get go! I believe he caused you to have a bad hair day so you would wear your helmet. ( He knows us better than anyone) God knows what is going to happen in our lives way before things happen, so he directs our paths so we can avoid mishaps. It is up to us to choose the right path and thank God you listened to your heart and put on a helmet. I am so glad you are o.k.

  4. onceuponatime permalink
    May 18, 2010 1:34 pm

    Whoa! Glad you’re not hurt.. and what better way to protect your hair than to still have a head!

  5. FemmeFox permalink
    May 18, 2010 1:51 pm

    OMG! Scary!!! I just talked to JohnFalcon today and he was wondering why you hadn’t gotten back to him. I’m glad that you are alive and in one piece. Heal up dear, we’re sending our healing vibes your way.

  6. Ansley permalink
    May 18, 2010 2:10 pm

    I am always scared for bikers when I see them riding on the streets.

  7. May 18, 2010 2:27 pm

    Im glad you had your helmet on! Hope your hand/arm heels up soon.
    Take care 🙂

  8. fieedz permalink
    May 18, 2010 2:47 pm

    You are welcome! =)

    • May 18, 2010 3:25 pm

      well if I had fully wwfd’ed, I wouldn’t have been riding a bike in the first place. but as always, thanks for calling me out on my mediocre decision making.

      • fieedz permalink
        May 18, 2010 3:36 pm

        always consult with the third eye!

  9. May 18, 2010 4:22 pm

    Wow. What a compelling story. I am so glad you are okay.

  10. ~Back to Curly~ permalink
    May 18, 2010 5:01 pm

    oh dear, you had me scared while reading this! Glad you’re okay, and that it’s not serious. Hope you heal up fast & well;-)!!

  11. Lynnieluve permalink
    May 19, 2010 5:12 am

    OMGoodness!!! I’m glad you’re okay! I wish you a speedy recovery.

  12. May 19, 2010 8:40 am

    I am so glad you’re ok! Phew. I am a firm believer in helmets while on my bike… but I’ll be honest, the helmet is one of the main reasons I would never become a bike commuter (b/c of the hair issue). BUT, if I ever decided it was worth it to bike commute… a helmet I would wear. My life is definitely more important than my hair.

    I am really glad you were feeling lazy/woke up late that morning. Really glad. 🙂

  13. stang permalink
    May 19, 2010 4:31 pm

    cassidizzle, im glad you were being safe! I love you, it may have been awkward if your head was still on the st in sf.

  14. May 19, 2010 8:39 pm

    AH! I’m glad you are okay and were wearing your helmet.

  15. Paula permalink
    May 20, 2010 7:53 am

    Glad you’re okay! Sorry to hear about your accident

  16. April permalink
    May 20, 2010 9:06 pm

    Thank god you were wearing your helmet!. So happy to hear you’re ok.
    And very lovely hair btw. You’ve officially become my hair-role model. Hope you can live up to the pressure!! lol

  17. Ekaette permalink
    May 20, 2010 9:26 pm

    omg glad you made it out ok

Leave a Reply

