Skip to content

Totally Twisted

May 24, 2010

Guess who got motivated yesterday and set herself up with a head full of two strand twists?

THIS GIRL!

I rarely do two strand twists because they can take quite a chunk of time, however every few months, I’m down to invest the time.  Besides, after the initial upfront time, you don’t have to do much to your hair and then few days later you get to take them out and have a really sweet twist-out style!

To set these twists I co-washed and detangled with JessiCurl Aloeba Daily Conditioner, deep conditioned with my favorite Aubrey Organics GBP, and once everything was all rinsed out I used Karen’s Body Beautiful Hair Milk as a leave in.  (I have to say, the KBB Hair Milk is a fantastic product; it makes my hair feel like silk!  I don’t know why I don’t use this stuff more often…oh wait….yes, yes  I do:  it makes me smell like a Glade Plug In for 2 days.  It doesn’t smell bad, just floral, spicy and STRONG.  It has turned heads before.    I’ll will be repurchasing this one, just not in the Chamomile Sage scent…)  Then I used Afroveda’s  Ginger Almond Butter to put the twists in.

The twists came out ok.  Not great, just ok.  I don’t think the Afroveda butter was good at keeping the twists frizz free.  Now, the one thing I did notice was that my twists have gotten long!  The front twists now lie on top of my eyebrows while the back twists fall to the back of my neck.  It’s been about 6 months since I did the big chop and it’s really cool to be able to see such noticeable growth!  I went digging through my pictures so that you too can see how Lola’s twists have grown since the big chop.

November 2009 - 12 hours post BIG CHOP. I haven't see my head so "scalpy" since

December 2009 - In Mexico with my bffaeae DanielaStang. Do I see a cowlick?

December 2009 - Another shot of the Mexico twists

March 2010 - These were rehab twists. As in they were detoxing Lola after I put her through a product overdose

May 2010 - The latest set of twists.

May 2010 - Pinned 'em up with a flower!

May 2010 - Stretchin' it out out out (like Caramello....remember those things???)

I think I’ve noticed the most significant growth between March and May.  I think it’s probably had a lot to do with having a more consistent regimen of products and styling and perhaps even the multivitamins I’ve hopped on the wagon of taking.   Either way it’s definitely motivating to see the progress!

I also want to give a sincere and heartfelt thanks to all of you who wished me well after the bike accident!  It really meant a lot.  I’m doing a lot better and have even gotten back to riding with a helmet of course!

8 Comments leave one →
  1. YourfAce permalink
    May 24, 2010 10:41 am

    Nice twists, but 1- is that a new jumper? And 2- is that an etsy hair flower?

    • May 24, 2010 10:50 am

      meant to call you about this yesterday! YES! It is a new jumper: hooded, halter, quad-kangaroo pouch pockets, with draw string ruching on the sides! And I also bought a denim mini-skort this weekend. Biz in the front, part in the back!

  2. Fatemeh permalink
    May 24, 2010 10:48 am

    shrinkage is a trip. Love the twists

  3. Lynnieluve permalink
    May 24, 2010 6:15 pm

    I’m glad you are doing better and back on your bike….with your HELMET!!

    Love your twist. If you add some gel after you apply your butter, it will help keep the frizzies away. For me, if I dont use gel, the frizzies show up on day 2 or 3 but if I use the gel, they show up around day 6 or 7.

    Oh, and that hair candy is really cute. I need something to jazz up my twist.

    • May 25, 2010 4:47 pm

      I did put on some gel, but I think it was a little late. Kinda regretting swapping out my DB Madagascar Vanilla Styling Creme because that DID set beautiful twists. Alas…another product to reach out and find 🙂

      I’m all about the hair candy! This one is from Etsy…a shop called PetalMix. Etsy is my new weakness….

  4. FemmeFox permalink
    May 28, 2010 2:28 pm

    Yaaaaaaaaaaay! I’m glad that you’re doing better. Maybe I will run into you this weekend at Carnival! Lola looks amazing btw. Your length is the hotness!

  5. June 11, 2010 12:13 pm

    I’ve been wanting to try the Karen’s Body Beautiful Hair Milk (but definitely not in Chamomile Sage -I smelled the lotion in that scent and was not feeling it). Glad to know it works for you. I think I will pick some up. I like your twists.

Leave a Reply

