Skip to content

Karens Know Best!

May 26, 2010

In an effort to give my twists some more pizazz, I decided to roll them overnight.  After I pulled out my little white plastic rollers I immediately remembered how gd uncomfortable they make sleeping.  And then I remembered that in my interview with my Nana (whose real name is Karen), she talked about how growing up she and her sisters would tear strips of brown paper bags and use those as rollers.  More recently when I complained about Roller-Slumber Discomfort, my good friend Karen recommended that I use torn strips of fabric or a t-shirt instead of hard plastic rollers.  I looked at the pokey white rollers and I decided that if not just one, but TWO Karen’s had advised me to use something different to get a curl, I should probably listen to them.

So into our paper bag recycling area I went and tore up a bunch of strips, rolled my twists around them, put on a sleeping cap and went to bed.

Paper bag roller

It was pretty easy to do and certainly less uncomfortable than sleeping with rollers.  Woke up this morning, took em out and now have a head full of bouncily, bumped twists!

In other news: I saw the President this morning!  Well, kind of…I definitely saw his car.  See:

En route to work I was halted by a bunch of  cops for about 10 minutes while a massive procession of motorbikes cleared the streets, followed by about 19 Escalades with tinted windows, one of which was charioting Mr. Barry O. around our fair city of San Francisco, and then a bunch more Escalades, cop cars, and a SWAT van.

Just goes to show that you never know what you’re gonna run into on your bike en route to work: sometimes it’s an unsuspecting jaywalker and other days its President Obama.

And while we’re on the topic, I just want to say that it is so nice and refreshing to know that Michelle, Sasha, and Malia Obama are all natural (and Barack too for that matter!).  Even though they are most often rocking a press, it’s awesome that our White House is chemical free!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Fatemeh permalink
    May 26, 2010 9:54 am

    my mom told me that they used to use paper bags and t-shirts too. That’s super old school huh?

    • Fatemeh permalink
      May 26, 2010 9:56 am

      she also said they made the best curls

  2. May 26, 2010 10:56 am

    I never could understand how they actually stay rolled up in your hair. Can you explain in some detail how exactly you do it. Have you heard of locloops? There is some legal stuff going on with them in NY so they are not available online. As a retired senior with locs over with l0c 12 years old is refreshing to go on line and follow what you all are doing with your locs….peace and blessing

  3. June 1, 2010 8:50 am

    I’ve never heard of the paper bag trick. I’m excited to try this out! I recently took down my kinky-twists and I need to do a DC on my hair–I was thinking about doing a twist n curl style and I will definetly try this method!!
    Thanks for sharing!

  4. AnaNicholle permalink
    June 2, 2010 10:32 pm

    interesting…how do you keep it curled up… bobby pins??

    • June 3, 2010 7:18 am

      @ AnaNicholle + Cynthia—

      yes, bobby pins are what keeps them in for me! but I bet that if you were to make your strips long enough, you could tie them. But I didnt, so bobby pins were the way to go.

      So what I did was tear a strip of paper, about 3″x 6″ and then rolled it the long way until I had a roller the size that I wanted. then I rolled my twists around them, folded the edges of the paper inward and secured them together.

      since its kind of a diy setting process, I’m sure there are a zillion ways to do it so you should just dive in and play and see what you come up with! HTH!

Leave a Reply

