Skip to content

Cravings + Anxiety

May 28, 2010

I’m craving braids.  Perhaps it’s my week in twists or perhaps it’s the fact that June is right around the corner and I’ve had braids for the past two summers.  But I want ’em, need to have ’em, can’t stop thinking about ’em.  I’m particularly interested in a set of Senagalese Twists.  And while the thought of getting braids and having low maintenance hair for a couple months thrills me, I kind of feel like this girl:

Terrified.  Full of anxiety.  Pretty certain that I’m on the brink of disaster.

I’ve had braids so many times before, so why am I feeling like this now?  To put it simply, I’ve kind of gotten attached to Lola and making sure Lola is as happy and healthy as possible.  While braids can improve the health of hair, there is a lot of pulling, tugging, combing, and manipulation required to do them, all of which can be potentially damaging.

And I *know* that once the braids/twists are in, all I’m going to be thinking is “Lola!  Are you ok in there!!???  Are you breaking off?  Splitting?  Dry?  Hungry? Tired? Oh my god, answer me!”.  But I know Lola won’t be able to “answer” me unless I take the braids out, which I won’t because they cost $150, took 7 hours to do, and last for two months.  I can see me now: descending into a vortex of despair and anxiety instead of having a summertime-and-the-livin-is-easy couple of months.

But I have an active imagination, this I know about myself quite well.  I know that I just need to find best practices for braid maintenance and tips/advice that can help me plug up this well of anxiety that is gushing out from my heart at an unbelievably fast rate, polluting the Gulf of Mexico and the Southern Coast, er….I mean my head and this blog….

Anyone have any tips out there on how to best care for braids/twists?  Help a girl out!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. May 28, 2010 11:17 am

    Why not just put in a set of small twists yourself with your own hair? That way you get the ease of twists without worrying about your hair health. You could also put some kinky twists in yourself. I put my own in and leave them for about a month before taking them out. Costs me all of $10 for 2 packs of hair 🙂

    • May 28, 2010 11:19 am

      kinky twists myself, eh? I’ve never thought about doing that….

  2. FemmeFox permalink
    May 28, 2010 2:32 pm

    I agree with Janet. Putting them in yourself isn’t hard (I did my whole head once when I was in high school) just time consuming the first time. But after all that you save money and won’t feel bad if you take them down.

  3. June 1, 2010 11:29 am

    NaturalSelection–

    Where is a good place to buy hair in the city (SF)?

    I’ve been having trouble finding an acutal hair store, I keep being sent to Sally’s and to that’s not a place to buy hair, hair supplices yes but actual hair.

    Help please!

    Thanks Monique

    • June 1, 2010 11:45 am

      Discount Beauty Supply! Its on Fillmore @ Geary…good selection!

Trackbacks

  1. Time to Travel « natural selection

Leave a Reply

