Skip to content

Attention SF Bay Areans: Lots of Get Down to Get Down Upon (giveaway style)

June 15, 2010

I know it’s been awhile since the last Bay Area Naturals meet up, but I wanted to let you know that I have been working on planning the next one.  I’ve been getting a lot of interest since our last brunch and so this event should prove to be bigger and better.  Keep posted to this blog for details….

Until then, wanna do something cool in the area?  I thought you would.  This Saturday, June 19th marks one of my favorite SF Bay Area events: THREAD SHOW!  Close your eyes and imagine yourself immersed in a wonderland of over 100 independent designers, emerging artists, funky beats, food, beverages, and friends.

I dig this show because you can find a lot of unique items- clothing (men’s, women’s, and kid’s), jewelry, accessories, home furnishings, books and art- at really fantastic prices.  PLUS you get to meet and great the people behind the awesome creations while you shop the goods.  Not to mentions, it’s a great way to support the local designers and our economy.  While I have recently put myself on a no-shopping-for-clothing diet (April/May=sun dress binge), I always am on the hunt for fun hair candy for Lola!

Want to come along?  Shoot me an email at naturalhairselection@gmail.com and I’ll choose one winner at random to win a free pair of passes to the show.

Lastly—if you’re in the area and want to see a suh-WEET hip hop performance, come to Mission in the Mix!  Long story short, I’m dancing in it and I am *hella* excited for the six shows over the next two weekends.  Put on by the extremely talented, Bay Area-based choreographer, Micaya (who also organizes the annual SF Hip Hop Dance Fest), Mission in the Mix will be featuring the Soulforce dance company, Micaya’s performance workshop groups (enter: yours truly!), and a grab bag of other awesome dance companies and performers; depending on the show you come to, you could catch belly dancers, lindy hoppers, salsa dancers, and of course hip hoppers).  It’s gonna be hot.  Don’t miss it. Tickets available here: Mission in the Mix.

And last but not least, I was featured on my local neighborhood’s blog today as part of their Women Who Bike Series.  Here’s the link to the feature.

Yayayayayayayayayayayayayaya!  So much awesomeness this week, so little time.  Hope to see you somewhere in all of the goodness!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. yourfaceandyourmom permalink
    June 15, 2010 5:47 pm

    lindy hoppers? you know i’m there.

  2. FemmeFox permalink
    June 18, 2010 1:54 pm

    OMG you’re doing Mission in the Mix?! That’s awesome. Unfortunately I won’t beable to attend but I LOVE Micaya. Tell her I said “Hi!” I was one of the original SoulForce dancers, lol. Small world!

    • June 18, 2010 3:03 pm

      that IS nuts!!! such a small world…I’m so excited for the shows!! you suuuuure you can’t make it next weekend even? I’m sure you’d love to see what SoulForce is putting on!

  3. June 21, 2010 4:31 pm

    I went to the Thread Show, had a blast! I’ll come out and support ya this Sunday, doll.

Leave a Reply

