Skip to content

Yesterday Rocked

June 30, 2010

For two reasons:

June 29, 2010

Thats right: I acquired a vuvuzela  and donned a bouffanted ponied fro-hawk.

For those of you who don’t know, I have been damn near obsessed with this hornets’ nest of a horn during this World Cup.  So when my friend brought one back from South Africa for me yesterday I could NOT have been more jazzed!  And because I know you might be wondering, YES they are actually that loud in person.  My roommates and neighbors are thrilled, I’m sure.

Now let’s talk about that hair-do I am rocking in the above picture.  Actually, let me hook you up with a better shot of what’s going on up there:

The Back

The Back

The Side

So that’s three mini afro-puffs and the top portion of the ‘do is clipped into a bouffant.  The purpose of this style was to keep my hair stretched so that I could do two strand twists on dry hair last night and let me tell you this stretching style really worked well.  Normally, because of the fact that my hair shrinks to about 20% of its actual length, I’m working with 3-4″ of twisting hair, but after stretching I had about 7-8″ to work with so my twists are a lot longer than normal.  I’m going up to a festival for a few days so putting my hair in a protective style for the adventure was key.  The one thing I noticed is that when stretched my hair seemed to tangle a lot more than when I leave it curly and shrunken.  I also noticed (enter: sad face) that I need a trim.  Ok, fine, I know I haven’t gotten a trim since my BC back in November, so I guess I’ll be putting that on the docket for when I get back in town.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. yourfaceandyourmom permalink
    June 30, 2010 10:16 am

    VNVNVNVNVNVNVNVNVNVNVNVNVNVNVNVVNVNVNVNNNNNNNN
    (that’s how i spell the glorious noise of a vuvu…why do people think it’s obnoxious i just don’t get it?!)

  2. Jay Brandt permalink
    June 30, 2010 10:52 am

    I just wanted to say I love this po… BZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZ

  3. July 1, 2010 9:48 am

    Love the horn. I’ve heard it about since the WC started. LOL

    i love the hair. I’ve heard about stretching but never experimented with it. Maybe I’ll give it a try this weekend since you said it worked out for you. I think our hair is about the same length.

    • July 8, 2010 9:33 am

      I love the horn too! hhaha…..you could also try banding…I did a post on it here (but it wont let me post the link, so just search for “banding” w/in this blog.

  4. NaturalDezign permalink
    July 1, 2010 10:05 pm

    OMG. I was thinking of trying a style very similar to this but I was going to do a bang instead. I figure since I can’t put my hair in one ponytail yet maybe multiple ones would be cute.

Leave a Reply

