Skip to content

I don’t care, I like Ari’s Hair.

July 7, 2010

I spent the past holiday weekend making merry with a bunch of friends up in the Sierra Nevada mountains at the annual High Sierra Music Festival.  One of my highlights from the festival was meeting Ari the MC, an uber talented spoken word artist and MC.  I stopped him for a chat after hearing his beautiful recitation of MLK’s “I Have a Dream” speech (the perfect way to kick off our Independence Day celebrations!).

Aside from being a featured artist at the festival, Ari’s rhyming talents were also available for a la carte ordering from his mobile musical menu, which offered up 31 Flavors (songs) about everything from “Wisdom” to “Bob Marley” to “Grandma” to  “Hair”.

Ari (+ his delightful lady friend, Reema) and his menu of 31 Flavors of Rhymes

Naturally, I selected “Hair” and Ari blew us away with the rhymes he laid down in an acoustic flow.  Luckily (!), I was able to catch it all on video to share with you!  (**Warning** a couple of the rhymes are of a bit of an adult nature….)


In addition to “Hair”, we also got to hear a song about The Beatles, veganism, and soccer, err…futbol and then Reema hooked me up with beautiful henna art and an herbal facial mist from her Spa Wagon.  Long story short, I (and my entire camp of about 40 people) was totally impressed with Ari,  his eloquent MC skills, the fact that he shares in my celebration of all types of hair, and his beautiful head of coils!

Happily Hennaed at High Sierra!

9 Comments leave one →
  1. sarah esther permalink
    July 7, 2010 10:23 am

    i love this

  2. ada permalink
    July 7, 2010 7:48 pm

    omg I wanna marry ari with his hairy sexy self.lol

  3. onceuponatime permalink
    July 8, 2010 7:39 am

    Where was this wonderful land of modern hippies? Sounds like it was a lot of fun. 🙂

    • July 8, 2010 9:28 am

      High Sierra Music Festival, Quincy, CA…right in the middle of the Sierra Nevada mountains. It is amazingly fun, I go every year….

  4. Diane permalink
    July 9, 2010 4:22 pm

    I really love that dress. Escola de Mangueira, right? I have to make it to Brasil one day. Um, hi, I’m a new reader. lol. I love your blog.

    • July 9, 2010 4:58 pm

      Welcome to the blog!

      But um…. You just won SO many points with me for knowing that that was a Mangueira dress!!! Got it when I went to one of their rehearsals in their school last year right before Carnaval! Amazing time!

      • Diane permalink
        July 9, 2010 5:42 pm

        Yay! lol. I only know that because I like Brasilian music. There’s a song on the City of God soundtrack by Cartola called Preciso me encontrar. You’ve probably heard it. I can’t remember what scene it’s in, but I loved it so much that I looked him up and saw that he partially founded the samba school and he decided on the colors. So, I saw the pink and green and was like, oh yeah!

Leave a Reply

