Skip to content

The Cheap Stuff

July 9, 2010

A lesson that must continually be learned: just because a product is expensive doesn’t mean that its going to be better than something that costs half/a third/a quarter (!) of the price.

Enter Miss Ellepixie.  This gal is a ride or die product junkie.  And honestly, I get nervous reading her blog because she just makes me want to whip out a credit card and shop shop shop.  It has proven problematic in the past, but recently I’ve miraculously been able to resist.

That is, until she started getting all “nom nom nom” about Tresemme Naturals Conditioner and Long Aid Activator Gel, both of which are under $5. Needless to say, both of these things were purchased within 6 days of my reading about them (ok, the conditioner was within the hour) and I was finally able to give them a whirl last night and this morning.

Welp.  Gotta say that this cheapie conditioner works infinitely better than my $15 condish for detangling.  In fact, it worked SO well THAT I COMBED MY HAIR FOR THE FIRST TIME SINCE JANUARY.  If you have been reading this blog, then you know that this is a massive milestone.  I never comb my hair!  I have become the disciple of finger detangling only!  But when that comb started slipping through my Tresemme’ed-up curls, I was sold.  Plus this ish is $4 for a huge bottle and because I have hecka hair I can use it with reckless abandon and not try to conserve the stash.  Can’t beat it.

And the fascinating thing about combing is that it left with me with super defined, stretched out, frizz-free and juicy curls.  My Lolitas looked so fly that I was kinda [really] sad to be going to bed so that the only my mirror, and my pillow and I got to enjoy them. (But of course, I tried to take a pic).

Then this morning when my hair was still damp after sleeping in my Coolio stretching braids, I applied some of the Long Aid gel, which also did the trick quite well!  As I write, my hair is still drying a little, but I am not seeing any fuzz and as I said we’re talking five-bones here, so I’m impressed.

So the long and short of it is, if you come at me with a hype product review I’ll probably buy it and be kind of salty that you talked me into yet another wallet drain.  BUT if you come at me with a hype review of the CHEAP stuff, I’ll definitely buy it and sing your praises along with the product!

And now that I’m thinking I’m back on the occasional combing wagon,  here’s to hoping I can resist the $28 comb….

13 Comments leave one →
  1. July 9, 2010 11:37 am

    Dang, Cass!!! CALLING ME OUT! 😉 And I see you found the regular Long Aid…I want that one!!!! Mine is the Extra Dry one but it has protein so I can’t use it everyday.

    • July 9, 2010 11:41 am

      IT HAD TO BE DONE!!!!!!!!!! srsly tho…in the last video “im not buying products, but this is a comb…so uhhhhh…it doesn’t count.” L.O.LLLLL.

      Hmm..my hair loves protein…I wanna try what you got. COME TO THE MEET UP!!!! We can swap in person! 🙂

      • July 9, 2010 12:22 pm

        I mean…it wasn’t a PRODUCT!!! I wish I could come to the meet up but that’s a SIX hour drive! Girl, you know I love hair, but not that much, lol…

  2. July 9, 2010 11:46 am

    Ok, so now that’s two new conditioners that I’m gonna have to try, lol. The other is Suave Shea Butter conditioner, which I’ve read is under 3 bucks at Walmart for a big bottle. At these prices I can confidently get both soon =). I’ve used the Long Aid Gel when I had my TWA and I liked it. It wasn’t sticky and it didn’t make my hair hard when it dried. I didn’t use it alone though, I used it under some Eco Styler gel.

    Beautiful hair by the way… I think I am sold on that conditioner just from your pictures, lol.

  3. July 9, 2010 12:15 pm

    Ooooo, I’m going shopping after work!!
    Thanks for the review!!

    Lata
    Monique

  4. July 9, 2010 12:16 pm

    Did you leave the tresemme in or rinse it out after detangling?

    • July 9, 2010 12:37 pm

      rinsed it out! but then I deep conditioned right after… although I really didnt need to as my hair was pretty dang conditioned after detangling (as I said, I have a lot of hair, so it took about 45 minutes to get through my whole head). and then I used a little bit of Karen’s Body Beautiful as a leave in under the gel….

  5. NewRibena permalink
    July 9, 2010 1:01 pm

    I’ve been using that Mason Pearson comb for about 2 years now and I love it (not the price though)! I remember buying that Long Aid gel some months ago but have misplaced it somehow…I’ll have to hunt it down this weekend.

  6. ~Back to Curly~ permalink
    July 12, 2010 8:53 am

    oh! I keep seeing this at my local drugstore but never picked it up! Will have to try now, lol…looks great for cowashing and a quick pre-poo session.

  7. onceuponatime permalink
    July 13, 2010 1:00 pm

    I don’t buy any products that are more than $10 (and really, I’ve never spent much on hair to begin with) and I’ve been just fine. Everytime I hear about someone spending $20-30 and up on CONDITIONER or whatever new product du jour, I just have to shake my head cuz I know for a fact that they just got robbed. $20-30 buys a lot of groceries, or maybe a new book, shirt, dress, skirt, etc..

  8. July 16, 2010 8:35 am

    Sounds good. Maybe I’ll pick some up. I’ve been detangling with VO5 forever.

  9. July 17, 2010 11:24 am

    From a fellow northern cali natural….I love the Tresemme Natural line. I use the conditioner for my deep conditioning once a month. Love what you’re doing in the Bay…to bad I can’t make it to the naturals meet up in San Fran. I live in Sac-town and only come up to the bay once a month.

    Casarae

    • July 19, 2010 1:26 pm

      shoot me an email the next time you’re coming in town! I love meeting other naturals!

Leave a Reply

