Skip to content

TARGET: Natural Products for the Masses

July 13, 2010

Mad props to everyone’s favorite superstore, TARGET, for continuing to branch out in the natural hair department with the recent announcement that they will be carrying one of my favorite product lines, Kinky Curly, at select stores.

I’ve always thought of Target as having done an exceptional job of bringing top tier clothing and home designers  to the masses and so I commend them for doing the same for natural hair products!

Now, in my case there is not a Target in San Francisco and so when I do get a chance to go there it’s a pretty special occasion that happens about once a year and I lose myself in the stores glorious racks, aisles, and end caps, spending lots of money that I don’t need to.  So it goes.

About a month ago, I had the delight of taking my annual sojourn across to the Target across the Bay and found myself breezing past all of the crafts and clothes to go straight to the hair section, because I knew that they had recently started carrying natural products, but I wanted to see if with my own eyes.  I first stumbled upon what was called the “Ethnic Hair Care” (????????????) aisle, filled with old friends such as

Then I turned the corner and there it was.  An endcap filled with product lines such as Miss Jessies, Jane Carter, Curls, and SheaMoisture!  What a delightful bounty of natural hair goodness!

After a few minutes (well, 45 of them) reading, and smelling, and assessing the offerings I decided that I was particularly fond of this Shea Moisture line of products.  

And despite not being in need of any products and the fact that I’m not a HUGE fan of raw shea butter, I couldn’t resist that 9.99 price tag.  Even though I really really tried!  I circled it like a Great White Shark around a tuna before going in for the kill and nabbed a jar of the Deep Treatment Moisture Masque.  (Which after a few trials makes a mediocre deep treatment, but an AWESOME product for twists and twist outs!)  

In the end I think the fact that Target is carrying these products is fantastic for two reasons:

  • Simply, products catered towards curly, natural textures are becoming more readily available to those what want them.
  • And on a deeper level, the taking of these quality products out of the Beauty Supply stores and online retailers to the shelves of one of the nation’s largest retailers is creating a greater awareness of and momentum behind this natural movement.

10 Comments leave one →
  1. July 13, 2010 2:48 pm

    I’m loving the Shea Moisture too–it’s the first one I bought (the one you show the ingredients on).

  2. yourfaceandyourmom permalink
    July 13, 2010 2:54 pm

    my dad uses that pinkshine stuff. for realsies. i think a nurse told him about it. i’ll tell him it’s available at target…though he’d be happier if it were at costco!

  3. Shones permalink
    July 13, 2010 8:07 pm

    ITA about using SheaMoisture’s Deep Treatment Masque for twists and twists outs. That is a fantastic product.

  4. Tracy permalink
    July 14, 2010 12:13 pm

    Hey which Target did you find the Shea Moisture stuff? It’s not out here in the boonies.

  5. July 14, 2010 12:21 pm

    I agree…the deep treatment masque isn’t such a good deep conditioner, but the smell is amazing and it offers great holds for twists. I LOVE that Target is carrying these products. It’s nice to find products in the beauty aisles with pronounceable ingredients 🙂

  6. Fatemeh permalink
    July 14, 2010 2:18 pm

    I read on one of the sites that the Miss Jessies ingredients is different for the Target stores. They have more junk in them. The Targets here (Modesto, CA) don’t carry those products yet. There just aren’t enough black folks LOL.

    • Fatemeh permalink
      July 14, 2010 2:19 pm

      Wait, i think its the Kinky Curly

  7. Deb permalink
    July 21, 2010 10:42 pm

    OMG! I live in SF…what Target location is this?? Very exciting!!

Leave a Reply

