Skip to content

…guess I don’t need this anymore…

July 21, 2010

Came across this picture from my San FranDISCO birthday party 2 years ago, when having a fro of my own hadn’t even crossed my mind yet.  That said, I cannot WAIT until my little Lola grows to such epic proportions as this and dwarfs other people’s heads in pictures.

While this wig was purchased from some costume store under the packaged with the label of “70’s Afro Wig”, it appears that these days afro wigs are  escaping their disco marketing and hitting the mainstream wig market in a variety of different forms.  Hairsisters.com, a wig retailer, states on their site “Afro is not nappy anymore! People embrace the natural beauty of its tight curly texture that is easy and reliable to wear and care.” Check out a few of their offerings:

Big, small, blonde, defined, chunky and so many more!  If you’ve seen Chris Rock’s movie Good Hair  (and you should), you may remember the part where he tries to sell natural black hair (as opposed to straight Indian hair for weaves) while trying to make a point that no one would want it.  Well it looks like the tables are turning, Mr. Rock: faux-natural hair is in demand!  Beyond the hair sites, afro wigs have even hit the runways, such as at the spring Louis Vuitton show:

So many shapes, colors, and styles!  It’s great to see the afro emerging as a versatile, not to mention, desirable silhouette!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Lakeisha permalink
    July 21, 2010 8:17 am

    I feel the same way…I’m ready to have big, obnoxious, block folks out of pictures, please move over hair…lol. Great post!

  2. July 21, 2010 8:42 am

    I love Afros. They always make me think of old pics of the ladies in my family who had large Afro (wigs).

    😉

  3. July 21, 2010 2:24 pm

    That’s really cool seeing the multitude of Afros rocking the runway. I was a little sad on the 4th of July because I had literally just cut my TWA in May, but I’m looking forward to regrowing her on out later this year. I LOVE your Lola by the way.

Leave a Reply

