Skip to content

CURLabration Recap + Pictures

August 3, 2010

Oh my my was it a good time!!!  Last Saturday July 31st about 40 naturals from all over Northern California came together in San Francisco at Morac Restaurant and Lounge for an afternoon of celebrating our natural curls, coils, locs and more!  Products were swapped, hors d’oeuvres were enjoyed, tips and techniques were discussed, and, most importantly smiles and laughter were shared!  Long story short, we did as we do best in the Bay Area: we had a hella good time!

I want to give a huge THANK YOU to all of you that came out and attended the event.  Just as with the brunch in April, I am so moved by the experience of bringing together the natural community together!  I also want to say a major thank you to our sponsors Bee Mine, Qhemet Biologics, Thank God I’m Natural, and NaturallyCurly.com for donating products, books, and information for attendees to take home with them.

A few highlights I want to share:

  • The little ones!  Two young ladies under the age of ten (Jalia and Zahara) and one tiny lady (Nicole) who was not even walking yet shared in the afternoon fun!  While Jalia helped me select the winners of the giveaways, Zahara won a jar of Qhemet Biologics Burdock Root Buttercream!  Very exciting for the whole family [as her mom, Roneka, won a TGIN book].
  • From afro-puffs to TWA’s to sister locs to cinnabuns to cornrows to lacefront wigs to ceasars to straight weaves to transitioners there was a huge diversity of  styles present!  The flyer said to “ROCK YOUR NATURAL” and these attendees certainly did!
  • My own personal take aways: 1. a SUPER cute pair of oversized black crochet earrings by Miss Fatemeh who may be starting her own Etsy store. (Of course I’ll be posting that info here when it happens) 2. AN AFRO PUFF OF MY VERY OWN.  I’ve been pining away for one of these like Christmas morning, but always thought my hair was too short.  Well, after an encouraging talking to by a couple of attendees…guess who has an afro puff today!  This girl.

    My first afro puff. This is the start of a beautiful relationship.

All in all, it was an extremely fun afternoon and I couldn’t have asked for a better time with better company.

So you wanna see the pictures?  Of course you do.  Pix after the jump!



14 Comments leave one →
  1. August 3, 2010 11:12 am

    Looks like a blast! If only I was in California at the time.

  2. August 3, 2010 11:34 am

    See! I told you that you had enough hair to rock a puff, gurl! I’m glad it worked out. Good job!

  3. ~Back to Curly~ permalink
    August 3, 2010 11:44 am

    what a great event!! So glad it went well, it’s always such a treat to see so many naturals in one place;-)

  4. CupcakeLuv permalink
    August 3, 2010 11:51 am

    Too bad I missed it. Next time 🙂

  5. August 3, 2010 11:53 am

    These pictures are AWESOME! I just relived all the fun through all of the smiles plastered on our faces =) I am looking very forward to the Fall!

  6. MiA permalink
    August 3, 2010 5:41 pm

    Awwww… I’m so sad I had to miss it. You ladies looked lovely. I will for SURE be @ the next one.

  7. shiku permalink
    August 3, 2010 6:11 pm

    wow! looks life fun and happy people..I hope I can make it nxt time..

  8. Rhonda Lawing permalink
    August 3, 2010 8:19 pm

    You all looked lovely! I will try to be at the next one.

  9. Curtissa permalink
    August 3, 2010 10:19 pm

    I had a lot of fun. Thanks for planning this event. I can’t wait for the next one:)

  10. La Shon permalink
    August 4, 2010 4:01 am

    I attended the event and had a stupendous time! I am in some of the pictures – with a real smile! Cassadie, thanks again for the event and for being available. That was me writing about a month go with a box of lye relaxer pointed at my head. You talked me down from that softsheen bridge, and I am growing in my CurlConfidence. And the Curlabration just pushed that forward by leaps and bounds. Up we go! With curls!

  11. August 5, 2010 8:22 am

    I am so sad I missed this event but happy I have learned of it. I will be sure to attend the next one. I love seeing all you beautiful ladies sporting your natural hair. I absolutely love it!

  12. OutofLurkdom permalink
    August 5, 2010 11:29 am

    So many beautiful heads of hair!

  13. September 4, 2010 2:32 pm

    Wow it looks like it was a lot a of fun. I just discovered your blog and would have loved to attend, as I’m in San Francisco too! I hope you plan another one soon.

Leave a Reply

