Skip to content

ATLANTA: where all major black decisions are made

August 4, 2010

Last fall, Chris Rock’s movie Good Hair opened my eyes to the magical world of the 4-day smorgasbord of all things black hair also known as the Bronner Brothers Hair Show.  If you haven’t seen the movie yet (and you should.  I know I always say that, but you really should!), check out this clip:

Turns out that aside from all of the fantastical and colorful and feathered weaves/relaxers/barbering there’s also a significant number of workshops  and vendors focused on natural hair at the upcoming show.  So what’s a natural hair blogger to do when major black hair decisions are being made at this super-awesome looking event on the other side of the country?   Well, hop on a plane and go check it out!

That’s right!  This weekend, Natural Selection is going to be taking a field trip (…a pilgrimage if you will…) to the A to attend the Bronner Brothers Hair Show!  I’ll be taking a lot of pictures, doing some interviews with renowned naturalistas, and of course, reporting back on the blog on what “major black decisions are being made” about natural hair.  I’ll also be doing a lot of tweeting while there, so if you’re a tweep, be sure to follow me (twitter.com/cassadie).

Now, do not get me wrong, I am hella jazzed to be taking this trip (I mean TALK about an urban adventure), but I am seriously concerned about my ability to withstand the 90 degree heat AND 82% HUMIDITY!!!!!  It was 55 degrees when I left my house in San Francisco this morning.  Fifty. Five. Degrees.  Not only my ability to withstand it, but I bet little Lola (who is not so little these days) is not gonna know what hit her!  Thanks to all of you who made recommendations when I was flipping out about this before, I’m sure I’ll be fine, if not melting like the Wicked [but natural!] Witch of the West.  So, I’ll be reporting on how that sitchashun works out too!

If you’re going to the show, hit me up!  I love meeting readers!  If not, well keep your eyes peeled for the posts and tweets!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. August 4, 2010 2:45 pm

    Nice, I just borrowed that DVD from a friend.. haven’t watched it yet. Good trip to Atlanta!

  2. August 4, 2010 3:22 pm

    How exciting!! I’m looking forward to reading all about the trip and your experience at the show. For some reason, I never think of naturals when I think of hair shows. I only think of the “fantastical and colorful and feathered weaves/relaxers/barbering”. It’ll be great to see how the natural hair community and leaders in natural hair care rock the show. Have fun, and girl, good luck in that heat!

  3. August 4, 2010 6:57 pm

    I just moved to the A a few days ago. If I’m not too tired I’ll check it out.

Leave a Reply

