Skip to content

Strange Bedfellows: iPhone App for Naturals + The Great Depression

August 5, 2010

Yesterday, I came across a really nifty iPhone app geared towards naturals.  You know hows  it can be damn hard to find a new salon to take care of your natural tresses?  Well this app does all the leg work for you!   It’s called “GoNappturale” and its billed as the “Urban Salon Finder”.  Check it out here and let me know what you think! (Unfortunately due to a series of technological snafus involving septic systems and pick-pocketry, I am currently smartphone-less, so have not been able to test it myself yet…)

Now.  On a completely different note, the second thing I wanted to share with you are pictures from the Great Depression.  I know I know, you’ve seen a bunch of these before and they’re, well, depressing.  Well THESE are not your average black and white photographs from the era, but FULL COLOR prints reproduced from original color slides.  The pictures are from the Farm Security Administration/Office of War Information and “are some of the only color photographs taken of the effects of the Depression on America’s rural and small town populations”, says the DenverPost article where you can find the full slideshow.  Seeing the clothes, skin, and surroundings in full, saturated bright hues really made an impression on me and I want to share with you two pictures.  The first caught my eye because of, of course, the braids featured prominently on the heads of these young farm workers from Louisiana in 1940.  The second, because it subverted how I always imagined a cultural icon: Rosie the Riveter.  Turns out, not only did Rosie the Riveter actually have nice nails in real life, but she was also African-American!

Pictures after the jump!

Bayou Bourbeau plantation, a Farm Security Administration cooperative. Vicinity of Natchitoches, Louisiana, August 1940. Reproduction from color slide. Photo by Marion Post Wolcott. Prints and Photographs Division, Library of Congress

Woman is working on a “Vengeance” dive bomber Tennessee, February 1943. Reproduction from color slide. Photo by Alfred T. Palmer. Prints and Photographs Division, Library of Congress

Pretty neat, right?  God I love technology!  Brining us color pictures from 70 years ago and sweet new phone apps for our future machines!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. August 5, 2010 1:00 pm

    Wow, wow, wee. Those are some amazing photos. White black and white photos are always so timeless, these photos also struck me in a different way. The magnificent color, actually seeing the beautiful black skin, and the beautiful brown hair of the baby… it gave me a sense of pride. I didn’t feel like, “well, oh, that was so long ago”, but more of, “wow, I can really relate to sitting on my porch, with my daughter in my lap, trying to figure out how the hell I’m gonna make it through in this devastated economy”, and the Rosie, she could have been my great-grandmother, as well as any woman laborer today! Thank you Cassadie for sharing these amazing photos. I’m gonna be sure to check out the rest of the slide show!

    That’s a pretty cool and useful app. Natural hair salons/stylist specializing in natural hair aren’t easy to find.

  2. August 5, 2010 5:16 pm

    Hey Cassadie,

    Thanks so much for the write up! This is truly awesome! We are trying to spread the word about our Apps as well as our applications development company Matriarc Media. You wouldn’t believe (better yet, you might) the shade thrown most black startups way when trying to gain exposure for a product or service. So I am TRULY honored that you have blessed us with this.

    {Per your article} I think its ahhh-mazing how much we’ve grown from “The Great Depression” as a people but not only that, absolutely and wholly as women. Coming full circle. The fact that we must support one another as well as create for us is absolutely imperative at this stage. I am committed to continually bringing products that help us attain our piece of this “Tech boom” pie. I always say it but it rings so true: We spend our hard earned dollars every day and if the major players/ developers don’t want to acknowledge that, then we will do it ourselves.

    If any of your readers ever have suggestions or questions, please feel free to email me at ((matriarcmedia@gmail.com)). We would love to create apps based off of the things that YOU love and that make all of our lives easier!

    Again, Thank you thank you for spreading the word.

    Peace 🙂

    Danesha

Leave a Reply

