Skip to content

It’s Time.

August 16, 2010

To get a trim.

Despite knowing full well that to grow healthy hair one must clip the ends every so often, I have been putting this off for a few months now.  I’m finally ready to admit this: my ends are kind of ratty.  I’ve been trying to pin point why I’ve been avoiding getting my hair trimmed and I think I’ve narrowed it down to a bad habit left over from my days of relaxers during which I tried to preserve every last millimeter of hair.

Every time I went in for my touch ups I would insistently remind my stylist  to “JUST DUST THE ENDS!”  Dude was my stylist for over 4 years, so it’s not  like he didn’t know this, but as I said, I harbored a serious preoccupation with length.  I wanted my hair to flow past my shoulders, tuck behind my ears,  and seductively swoop across one eye; in other words I wanted to have Aaliyah’s hair.  (R.I.P.)

But like many  habits, such as combing when dry, sleeping without a cap, and excessive heat, that I’ve been realizing and ditching along the way on this natural journey,  I think this anti-scissor mindset has gotta go.

Which is why tomorrow I’m going to get my first cut since my big chop in November 2009!  Which means that with the exception of the occasional search and destroy/knot removal operations, this is the first time in 9 months that I’ve undergone the scissors.

Truth be told, I’m more excited than nervous.  My hair has proven over the past 9 months that it grows and grows rather quickly at that.  When I stretch my curls, my hair is longer than it has ever been and Lola has grown to that length in less than a year.

The point is, that if I DO lose some length, which is inevitable, because that’s what happens in a trim, it will probably come back in no time.  Unlike the seven years it took to grow out my attempt at a T-Boz cut that left me looking more like Shawn from Boy Meets World.  (Which was so so so so so amazingly unfortunate to have happen as a freshman in high school)

What I was going for

....and what I got.

Wish me luck and I’ll be reporting on how it goes!!

One Comment leave one →
  1. August 17, 2010 12:06 am

    Lol and awwwww. Good luck. I remember those relaxed days when it was trim time. Since my hair was long, my stylist never wanted to take “all” of the dead ends off. She’d always leave some split ends, until it split and split and split, and I’d walk away with a darn bob cut. The last time that happened to me I was pregnant with my daughter. Went in with hair at my bra and left with hair at my shoulders. I looked like Dora the Explorer, lol… I almost cried. You’ll be glad for those regular trims instead of having to do a second big chop, lol.

Leave a Reply

