Skip to content

Lola’s First Cut: SUCCESS!

August 23, 2010

Last week I confronted my anxieties about getting my hair cut for the first time since my big chop in November and finally did the damn thang.  Well,  I did not do the damn thang per se, rather Miss Nyota of Hair Today Hair Tomorrow in Oakland clipped my trashy looking ends.  Hair Today Hair Tomorrow is a cozy one-woman shop that specializes in a wide variety of natural styles as well as an impressive array of homemade products, handmade by Nyota herself called Hair Vittles!

Nyota in her shop

Acquiescing to my request of having my hair cut while in its curly state, Nyota first wet my entire head with a mixture of water and her conditioner and then proceeded to detangle my entire head with a wide tooth comb.  Then section my section, Nyota worked with a fine tooth comb to stretch each of my coils and clip on the ends.  Only a light dusting was all that was really necessary, about 1/2″-1″.  I would take a picture for you, but honestly, its kind of hard to tell because of how much shrinkage I get with my hair.

Now it must be noted that my hair is extremely coily and insanely thick so this super-thorough technique (that I’m really glad I had done) pulled apart my coils in such a way that it left me with a large, extremely soft, picked-out, fro look that was new for me.  Waking up the next day, I was really sad to be coil-less and hopped right in the shower to condition my coils back.  It only kind of worked, so the next morning I went at it with a deep conditioner to see if that could help my coils spring back.  I added some yogurt to my regular Trader Joe’s Tea Tree Tingle conditioner because the protein usually helps my curls clump and define themselves.  30 minutes later TA-DAH!  Lola was back in all of her curly coily glory WITH freshly clipped frizz-free ends!

Perhaps my favorite part of getting my hair trimmed was that Nyota banded my hair in sections that were reminiscent of one of my favorite styles when I was 5 years old!  Afro pigtail puffs!!

7 Comments leave one →
  1. August 23, 2010 12:12 pm

    Congratulations! You did it! I’m sure Lola loves you all the more for it too. I have got to make my way into Miss Nyota’s chair, well, actually I need to get my daughter into her chair. I want her to have a salon experience that has nothing to do with straightening. Just from these couple of pictures it already looks like a fabulous, and inviting spot! So glad I was able to meet Nyota at the meet up!!

    • August 26, 2010 12:20 pm

      thanks barbara! I did make it through!! I

      think it would be great to have Lil Miss have her hair done my Nyota!!

  2. dearheart15 permalink
    August 24, 2010 2:20 pm

    Glad the trim went well! I haven’t one since my BC a year ago, so maybe its time 🙂

  3. Dani permalink
    August 24, 2010 7:08 pm

    you look just like skya in that pic.

    • August 26, 2010 12:19 pm

      i know. in her “weather weather weather weather” days…

  4. August 29, 2010 11:04 am

    glad you had a good cut experience. when i went for my BC … the lady didn’t give me a very nice shape. i live in hayward and i don’t really know who to trust to cut my hair 😦

Leave a Reply

