Skip to content

A Good Kind of Hair Loss

August 26, 2010

No matter how good your diet is, no matter how many vitamins you take, and even if you treat your hair like a piece of priceless antique lace— you’re gonna lose some of it.  Everyday.  Ladies and gents, I ‘d like you to meet shed hairs.

Not that you haven’t met them many times before throughout your life because on average everyone sheds 50-100 hairs each and every day.  They’re the ones stuck on your pillow, clogging up the drain, sticking to the collar of your winter coat, and getting pulled out of your brush in the unnatural formation of a fuzzy Barbie-sized welcome mat.  I’m just going to go ahead and call a spade a spade here: shed hairs are annoying.

Since going natural, the coily thicket atop my head does not as easily let these shed hairs slide out of my head and on their merry way to what I imagine is the nest of a cute family of bluejays.  My hairs detach from the root tangle themselves in my curls causing knots and frizz.  See?  Annoying.

I will admit that I used to be an avid proponent of finger detangling, which I thought did the job pretty well of getting those shed hairs out.  But my hair is just too thick and my coils to coily to thoroughly get shed hairs out manually.  I need a comb to do the job right.

I’ve recently been rocking a once a week regimen of thorough detangling, first with a wide tooth comb and then with a finer tooth comb (not fine tooth, just finer than wide tooth if that makes sense).

I am always SURE to do this when my hair is wet and has some sort of conditioner or detangler on it to give the combs some slip.  I clip my hair in eight sections and work through each section from the bottom up to the root.  My entire head takes about 30 minutes.  I have recently reignited my detangling love affair with  Trader Joe’s Tea Tree Tingle Conditioner because it just lets my combs glide through.

I’ve also been eyeing some other detangling tools that I have heard a lot of hype about such as the Ouidad Double Detangler Comb and the Denman Brush.  I hope to be adding both of those to my stash soon enough!

Now the good news about shed hairs is that when their departure from your head means that they’re just making room for new healthy strands to grow in their place!  Just remember: removing shed hairs is one thing, ripping through your hair quickly and roughly will cause breakage and that is quite another.  A little conditioner and a touch of patience go a long way in this process.   Happy detangling, kids!  

5 Comments leave one →
  1. ansley permalink
    August 26, 2010 2:47 pm

    I only go through my hair with a shower comb. that’s it. I used to nit pick about getting all of the shed hairs out and use a smaller toothed comb, but then I just decided to stop. it got too time consuming

  2. ~Back to Curly~ permalink
    August 27, 2010 7:33 am

    the amount of shed hair I have each week after detangling might alarm some folks, but it’s my kind of normal. Back in the days when my hair was relaxed I’d shed well throughout the day (embarrassing if you’re a teen), but with my hair natural I can see the actual thickness of my hair and know that this is just the normal chemistry of my hair;-)
    *and yes ALWAYS detangle w/conditioner/or while hair is wet!

  3. August 27, 2010 2:14 pm

    I actually don’t really use a comb, I only finger comb in the shower. It means I don’t tear out hair from my head and it leaves my hair more defined

  4. September 1, 2010 1:23 pm

    I had both the Denman Brush and the Ouidad Detangling Comb. Definitely go with the Ouidad…It’s insane how easily it runs through my hair with almost no breakage. Cut my detangling time in half.

    • September 2, 2010 12:20 pm

      I think I’m gonna go for the Ouidad Comb…I’ve been talking about it too much and my instinct is that the Denman will rip my hair…. better safe than sorry!!

Leave a Reply

