Skip to content

Are 2-Strand Twists Worth It?

August 27, 2010

This is a question I often struggle with.

PRO

  • Once they’re in, you don’t have to mess with your hair for a few days (with the exception of some light moisturizing)

CON

  • They take 1-3 hours of straight up twisting time to put in.  Ugh.

So is it worth the back-end manual effort for a couple of days of not doing your hair?  I’ve decided that the answer is YES.  Why?  Twist Outs!

Twist outs, if well done, can be really effing cute.  (And if poorly executed, well that’s a whole different post).  And not only are they cute, but they’re versatile!  Usually I leave my twists outs pretty chunky, as in I don’t separate them too much, but today, I really went for separating the little pieces and the result is a super textured style with a lot of movement and shine!

Read on for a step by step on how I got this look!

1. Cowash with Trader Joe’s Tea Tree Tingle Conditioner. I left a bit in as a leave in too.

2. Squeezed out the excess moisture by plopping (using an old t-shirt rather than a towel)

3. Separated my hair into four sections to keep things nice and easy

4. Used Qhemet Biologics Cocoa Tree Detangling Ghee to work a wide tooth comb through my hair.  Really liked this stuff.  Good moisture and made detangling super easy.

4. Then with a finer tooth comb, worked through Bee Mine Bee Hold Curly Butter.  This is my twist “setter”.  Had a nice consistency: creamy, but not too heavy.

5. Twist, twist, twist away!  I used twists that were 1-2″ in size and wound up with 4-8 twists in each of my sections.

6. Let the twists dry completely overnight and wore them the next day.

7.  Carefully unravelled each twist and separated into about four smaller pieces each.

8.  Fluffed the roots and shook my head.  VOILA!

I really liked the combo of the detangling with the medium tooth comb, Qhemet Ghee, and the Bee Mine Butter.  Each of my twists were super smooth and shiny, but not greasy or frizzy.  The hold was really good and my hair feels soft.

I might even add a piece of hair candy this evening, after all, it’s Friday night!  Happy weekend y’all!

15 Comments leave one →
  1. Lynnieluve permalink
    August 27, 2010 11:14 am

    LOVES IT!!! VERY CUTE!!!

  2. August 27, 2010 11:17 am

    Very nice twist out!

    • August 27, 2010 11:34 am

      thanks regina!!! I still have yet to master one of your beautiful up-do’s tho 🙂

  3. August 27, 2010 11:29 am

    Beautiful! I’ve been pondering this question all week in relation to my daughter’s hair. I didn’t have the 1-3 hours in me this week to get her twists done, but this weekend, its ON! I love the way twists look, and it gives her the chance to wear her hair semi-loose, like you said, they are extremely versatile, and the very end of the style leaves a beautiful textured style. Its definitely worth the time.

    • August 27, 2010 11:37 am

      That’s what I’m saying! 1-3 hours is QUITE a chunk of time! Send a pic when you’re done with Jalia’s twists (and the twist out)! I bet they will be super cute!

      What do you use to set hers?

  4. ansley permalink
    August 27, 2010 12:03 pm

    I put 2 strand twists in just for the twist outs. I think if I were to keep the twists in, i’d look like a little girl. :((

  5. yourfaceandyourmom permalink
    August 27, 2010 1:17 pm

    you look so pretty! someone will def try and hit that this weekend.

    is plopping worth it? i can’t figure out how to do it.

  6. Diane permalink
    August 27, 2010 1:58 pm

    1-3 hours? I wish. Try 5+. Am I doing them too small?? They’re about the width of my pinky finger. I live in twists; I will probably die in them. It’s the only way I know how to do my hair. I’ve done finger coils before, but not often. Actually, 5+ hours is pretty fast for me – this is only because I cut my hair several months ago. I used to have a lot more, and it would take me two days to twist because I’d start too late at night, and, invariably, I’d fall asleep. So, I keep them in for a few weeks. Then I take them down and start all over again. It’s really boring. Part of the reason I cut my hair was to experiment and wear it out more, but I haven’t really done that. I think I wore a twist-out for a few days, and that was it. Your twist-out is really cute, though. And I’ll have to try this Trader Joe’s conditioner.

  7. August 27, 2010 2:10 pm

    I haven’t figure out how to make my twist hold together. They just untwist themselves 10 seconds after I twist them.

    But twist out look lovely, I must say!

  8. August 27, 2010 2:10 pm

    I am a twist-out fanatic! It’s the one trick I have for a cute style on my TWA so I rock it CON.STANT.LY.

    I will have to try the products you suggested, though. My twists always look pretty dull and not glossy.

    thanks

  9. August 27, 2010 10:16 pm

    Very Nice on your coily,thick,lovely,lush,hairCassidy wonderful job

  10. August 28, 2010 2:47 pm

    Great twist-out! I love doing twist-outs on my hair because it stays moisturized and detangled 🙂

  11. ~Back to Curly~ permalink
    August 30, 2010 6:53 am

    Still love rockin the twists…it’s been my staple style since the day I did my BC. It’s time consuming, but always worth it in the end. Also revisited the BEE MINE butter this weekend and forgot how much I loved it! Your hair looks darling;-)!

  12. September 11, 2010 10:48 am

    CUTE!! Twistouts are my sigature style. I like your system! I already use Bee Hold (I love it! ) but I’ve never tried the detangling ghee. I’ll have to try that. Does it detangle both wet and dry hair?

    – savvy
    http://savvybrown.com

Leave a Reply

