Skip to content

Pomp and CURLstance: Fatemeh (+EARRING GIVEAWAY!)

August 30, 2010

Another Monday, but not just another Pomp and CURLstance feature.  This week we have Fatemeh, one of the Bay Area Naturals who recently launched Fatemeh’s Jewelry and Accessories. Fatemeb’s new sells super cute crochet and beaded earrings, scarves, bags, and hair accessories on Etsy.   Confession: I am an Etsy JUNKIE and am really excited to feature and support creative crafters and entrepreneurs.  In honor of this exciting Etsy launch, we’re doing a giveaway of this pair of earrings:

Read on to the end of the interview for details on how to win!

C: Tell me about your curly hairstory.

F: This is my second time going natural. The first time (2001) I just wanted a change. I was natural for about 1 year, wanted a change again so relaxed. This time around, I also wanted a change but it was different. I went natural in Feb of 2007, 7-8 months before I discovered the online hair communities. I was enjoying my journey before I discovered them but even more so after.

C: When and how did your “learn” how to do your hair?
F: I remembered what my mother did as a child. I had long hair then.

A young Fatemeh

C: What’s your current regimen and what products do you use now?

F: My products changed as my hair grew. I co-wash once a week with either V05 (mixed with EVOO) or Herbal Essence and I wash about once a month with Bee Mine Peppermint & Tea Tree Nourishing Shampoo. The shampoo isn’t striping and leaves my hair soft. I detangle with the shower comb and use the Denman to get the extra shed hair. I DC once a week with Silk Elements Olive Conditioner (with EVOO). In the winter I’ll use a heating cap for 1 hour. In the summer I’ll use a conditioning cap and a towel. I had been slacking off on DCing and my hair paid the price. I started using Bee Mine Deja’s Hair Milk as a moisturizer. This makes my hair so soft, plus it makes the bomb twist-outs. I seal with my own butter mixture of shea butter, mango butter, avocado butter and coconut oil. I’ll moisturize during the week, when needed. I always spritz my hair with water first.

C: Any tips/tricks/techniques you’d like to share?

F: Your hair will tell you what it likes. My hair hates aloe with a passion. So any product with aloe, no matter where on the ingredients list, I have to avoid. Also, styling options with natural hair are endless. To get ideas, go to Youtube or stalk Fotki’s. I have one: http://public.fotki.com/fnggrant/

Twists!

C: Can you share a curly anecdote or memory with us?

F: I thought I was the only natural in my city; there aren’t many African American’s here. Recently, I was leaving the grocery store and a lady with TWA was walking towards me. My heart started to beat fast. With excitement, I said “Oh my gosh, another natural.” We chatted for a minute and went our separate ways. It was so nice.

C: Tell me about the influence the online hair community has had on your experience?

F: The hair communities taught me that its okay to wash your hair more than once a month and that hair can be washed with conditioner. Its helped me find the right tools and products to care for my hair. They is a very good support system that lets you know that you’re not alone.

C: If you could use three words to describe your hair, what would they be?

F: thick, thick, thick
Now, about those earrings….

Fatemeh's goods at the Natural Selection Summer CURLabration

As I said earlier, one lucky lady (or gent) will be the winner of a pair of one of Fatemeh’s newest crochet earring creations!  Here’s how to enter:

1. Make sure you’re a subscriber to this blog

2.  LIKE Fatemeh’s Facebook page.

3. Email me at naturalselectionblog@gmail.com and tell me how you’d rock your hair with these earrings  and why.  Remember creativity counts and pictures are definitely welcome!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. August 30, 2010 7:25 am

    Cute earrings! (I admit to being an ETSY junkie too!!)

  2. August 30, 2010 9:28 am

    Exciting!

  3. September 8, 2010 11:21 am

    I just submitted my entry…. :-). Thank you for the contest. ~ Karen

Trackbacks

  1. Tweets that mention Pomp and CURLstance: Fatemeh (+EARRING GIVEAWAY!) « natural selection -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

