Skip to content

there is no dana, there is only zuul.

August 31, 2010

While the end results of doing your hair may wind up looking pretty darn cute, there are definitely parts of the styling process in which you can make yourself look questionable to say the least and totally absurd to say the most.  Remember the Coolio/Bumble Ball stretching situation?  Well yesterday when I put my hair in large, chunky twists to try to refresh my twist out, I looked in the mirror and two images came to mind:

That’s right.  Those terrifying-and-impressive-at-the-time-but-now-look-as-real-as-gumby-compared-to-what-james-cameron-is-pulling-off-these-days dogs from Ghostbusters and the androgynous, flat-topped Gozer.  Check it out:

Yup.

Sure I’m lacking in those laser red eyes and low body clearance that these dogs had as they tore apart NYC looking for Sigourney Weaver = Zuul, but I think that this pre-style style is quite the homage to my favorite late 80’s flick.

In the end, the twist refresh didn’t work because I was impatient and did not let my hair fully dry in the twists so I did not get any twist-out definition.  I did however, wind up with stretched curls and a larger-than-normal super soft fro.

But this whole Keymaster/Gatekeeper situation does have me wondering: how can I choose my next style that will make me resemble my actual favorite (and more cuddly) Ghostbuster character?

9 Comments leave one →
  1. August 31, 2010 10:23 am

    You “super soft fro” is very very cute!

  2. International Swagger permalink
    August 31, 2010 10:38 am

    I love how you spliced the movie with hair references! Ghostbuster #Classic! Back when S. Weaver was fine ahhh the good ole days. Zul would of got it back in the day, she was sexy as a possesed Demi-God :).

  3. August 31, 2010 7:14 pm

    More cuddle favorite huh? Hmmm… maybe you could try a variation of this style =)

    http://www.happygirlhair.com/2010/08/pillbox-and-short-stacks.html

    I love your ‘fro… its one of my inspirations =).

    • September 2, 2010 12:21 pm

      Love this! Thanks, Barbara for your link and the Lola love! 🙂

  4. September 1, 2010 9:26 am

    Nice fro, keep the humor, thats the only way to go!

  5. EmpressRi permalink
    September 2, 2010 8:23 pm

    LMAO!!!!!!!!!! Girl you damn near made me choke! I’ve been there but you’re always so fly I find this hard to believe.

  6. September 3, 2010 8:07 am

    The movie references were pure nostalgia! LOL

    I think that even though you didn’t quite get what you were looking for, the afro looks fantastic.. gorgeous in fact. :]

Leave a Reply

