Skip to content

Ouidad Double Detangler Comb Review + Giveaway

September 13, 2010

An expression in French, the most romantic of romance languages, comes to mind when I search for the words to describe my relationship with my new Ouidad Double Detangler Comb: COUP DE FOUDRE.  Translation: love at first sight. After pulling the hulking behemoth of a comb out of its box and feeling its impressive weight in my palm, I knew that I had found a workhorse worthy of taking on my dense thicket of coils.  It had the strength all right, but would it perform?

In a word: YES.  After doing a quick wash with my Chagrin Valley Poo Bar, I lavished my strands with Trader Joe’s Tea Tree Tingle Conditioner (my go-to condish for slip these days), then picked up the comb.  Starting from my ends, I worked the comb through small 2″ sections of my hair.  OMGosh it was just sliding through my strands like a knife through butter.  And we’re talking the type of butter that has been sitting out on the counter next to the toaster, not the been-in-the-fridge butter that will rip holes in your toast when you try to spread it.

Normally, a full detangling takes me about 45 minutes.  With the Ouidad Double Detangler I was done in under twenty.  The best part: minimal shed hair!  There was no pulling or breaking; just pure, full on, gliiiiiiiide.  Lovez it!

Another fun feature about this comb is that it doubles (hehehe, pun intended) as a comb organizer/holder!

The folks over at Ouidad have are sponsoring a giveaway of one comb to a Natural Selection reader.  That’s right, YOU, yes you, could win your very own Ouidad Double Detangler comb!

Here’s how you can win:

1. Make sure you’re a subscriber to this blog

2. “Like” the Ouidad Facebook Page

3. Write in the comments section of this post three words to describe your tangled hair.  Share yours and win!

Looking forward to hear what your snarly shares are!

Speaking of giveways, I’d like to give a shout out to Ms. Bar B who won our most recent giveaway of a pair of earrings from Fatemeh’s Jewelry and Accessories!  When asked how she would rock these crocheted earrings, she replied “If I won those beautifully fly earrings, I’d throw some Eco Styler Gel in my TWA and define my curls.  Then possibly put on my black slouch hat/tam, pushed slightly to the back revealing the front section of my curls.  Those earrings would bring the RASTA right outta me =)” Can’t wait to see you rockin’ these things rasta style, girl!!!

32 Comments leave one →
  1. Angela permalink
    September 13, 2010 6:49 am

    Three words to describe my tangled hair: pitiful, sorrowful, and hurtful!!!

  2. Dee permalink
    September 13, 2010 9:00 am

    3 Words:

    Coily, Knotty, Impossible

  3. September 13, 2010 9:57 am

    madness, difficult, mine (lol)

  4. Trina permalink
    September 13, 2010 12:13 pm

    This would best describe my 21 year old daughters hair: spongy, thick, moisturizer hog! Oh and did I say thick! LOL Don’t tell her i told you 🙂

  5. September 13, 2010 12:30 pm

    Tight, coil-y, work-out!

  6. September 13, 2010 12:35 pm

    3 Words: Foresty (yes, foresty, as in trying to comb through a forest), Frustrating, and Finicky!

  7. fatemeh permalink
    September 13, 2010 1:25 pm

    Since one word can have slightly different meanings, im adding the definition to the 3 words that best describes my tangled hair:

    Treacherous – marked by hidden dangers, hazards, or perils

    Impossible – extremely awkward or difficult to deal with

    Dense – marked by compactness or crowding together of parts

    • fatemeh permalink
      September 13, 2010 1:34 pm

      to add to treacherous – likely to betray trust

  8. Nicole permalink
    September 13, 2010 1:49 pm

    Hmmm…three words to describe my tangled tresses…how about this…”CRAVING OUIDAD’S COMB!!” lol…

  9. Lynnette permalink
    September 13, 2010 4:25 pm

    Three words to described my tangled hair: impervious, knotty, and porous

  10. Keisa Ababio permalink
    September 13, 2010 5:06 pm

    Hmmm… “Enmeshed, “Inter- meshed” & Yoked” LOL 🙂

  11. Lakeisha permalink
    September 13, 2010 5:23 pm

    My 3 words…SINGLE STRAND KNOTS…ugh…I’ve been getting these 3 times more than usual and have no clue why. Glad the detangler worked for you. Thanks for sponsoring a great contest!!!

  12. Nikki permalink
    September 13, 2010 8:43 pm

    My three words for my curls: MUST HAVE CONDITIONER…In order to get through them…no other way…would love to have the comb to help 🙂

  13. ansley permalink
    September 13, 2010 10:42 pm

    dry, sensitive, tight

  14. Imani permalink
    September 14, 2010 9:38 pm

    I hope this works as an entry:

    My three words/three word phrase: HANDLE WITH CARE

    I love my hair but it is very much 4a and extremely difficult to comb through. I can only detangle my hair when wet and loaded with conditioner. On top of that it takes a good half hour for a thorough job. Since I’m in college and not trying to hog the showers or spend the rest of my semester in them . . . I need the Ouidad in my life!

    I hope it can handle my FLY, FRAGILE, FOUR-AYY strands, lol!

  15. Fabiola Bernard permalink
    September 16, 2010 5:42 pm

    3 words ??!!
    very much dehydrated, knotted and thick

  16. katrena permalink
    September 17, 2010 8:53 am

    3 words: Always a challenge

  17. September 17, 2010 9:37 am

    Three words…tangled, dry, knotty (on the ends)

  18. QurlyChic permalink
    September 17, 2010 10:22 am

    Three word describtion…soft, playful….knottie me!

  19. AnaNicholle permalink
    September 17, 2010 1:52 pm

    A Total Badass
    (What can i say? She’s a rebel!)

  20. Lynnieluve permalink
    September 17, 2010 4:41 pm

    Tangled, coily mess

  21. September 17, 2010 6:07 pm

    uncooked ramen noodles

  22. chelle permalink
    September 17, 2010 7:33 pm

    single strand knots

  23. September 18, 2010 6:41 am

    Today…

    A HOT MESS!

    IN NEED of MOISTURE

    LOL!

  24. NaturalDezign permalink
    September 18, 2010 2:03 pm

    Three words to describe my tangly web….coily, chaotic, and delicate.

  25. Bria permalink
    September 18, 2010 4:26 pm

    Three words to describled my tangled up hair: knotty, tangled, and a rough diaster of hair.

  26. September 18, 2010 6:51 pm

    combative, relentless but (eventually) compromising

  27. Elysha permalink
    September 18, 2010 7:09 pm

    Three words that describe my tangled hair: defiant, proud, and wild!

  28. felicia permalink
    September 19, 2010 7:34 am

    Three words: Snarled Wildly Fierce!

  29. La Shon permalink
    September 19, 2010 10:53 pm

    three words: sexy conversation starters

Trackbacks

  1. Tweets that mention Ouidad Double Detangler Comb Review + Giveaway « natural selection -- Topsy.com
  2. Last Call for Ouidad Double Detangler Giveaway Entries! « natural selection

Leave a Reply

