Skip to content

A Curl Casualty

September 14, 2010

I rely on an army of duckbill clips and ouchless bands to help me section my hair off for styling purposes.  Working with my hair in sections makes the entire process of styling  – whether its twists, detangling, or wash’n’goes – go so much more smoothly.  However, sometimes this smooth sailing encounters a snag, literally.

This was the first entire curl that I’ve ever had to cut from my head and it was really sad to have to do it.  However, after 20 minutes of wrestling and pulling and unwinding, I just had to sacrifice this coil to the duckbill gods.  Let’s just have a moment of e-silence here.

Now when one curl dies,  another is born!  I’ve been in Minnesota the past few days (my home state) where I’ve spent a good chunk of time with my sister Skya’s hair.  She had braids that were uber ready to come out and using my new natural knowledge, I’ve been styling and helping her rock her natural.  It’s been…real.  Really really real.  There’s been tears, smiles, ups and downs throughout the entire process.  Keep your eyes peeled for a post wrapping up this experience.

Skya!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Phallon Wright permalink
    September 14, 2010 9:31 am

    Oh man, I remember those days as a child… The pulling, detangling, headaches and many many tears! I bet is real real. Lol. Love ya!

  2. September 14, 2010 6:43 pm

    Oh my. I actually clutched my pearls for your curl!

  3. September 14, 2010 9:11 pm

    She’s such a cutie! Looking forward to see which style she gets next from big Sis. I think its so great that you are so committed to ensuring that your sister grows to love her hair, and to accept her natural beauty. It ain’t easy, but its so necessary, especially for our girls. So sad about your curl, but I like how you put it about another being born =).

Leave a Reply

