Skip to content

Proud to be a Bay Area Natural!

April 20, 2010

This past Saturday was the first of many (!) Bay Area Naturals Meet Ups!  About 20 natural haired ladies (and one curious potential transitioner) got together at Market Bar in San Francisco to meet, eat, swap and bask in the glory of our beautiful, curly, coily, loc’ed, twisted, braided, cropped, long, bouncy, shiny, and most importantly *healthy* natural hair.  I think I can speak for the entire group that a fantastic time was had by all!  Attendees came from all around the Bay Area: SF, Oakland, Richmond, Fremont, Hayward, Concord, Palo Alto and even from beyond the Bay Area (shout out to Fatemeh who drove the 2 hours from Modesto!).

Special thanks to Komaza Care and JessieCurl, California-based companies, who graciously donated samples for all attendees to  try out and to Thank God I’m Natural who sponsored a giveaway of TGIN books, totes, and t-shirts that several lucky ladies got to take home.

As I said, there will be more of these to come, so stay tuned to details.  If you want to be added to the meet-up list to be notified of future events, shoot me an email at naturalhairselection@gmail.com.

A few favorite highlights:

  • The server asking what we were celebrating and replying “umm…HAIR!”.  (Although, Mia suggested I say that it was a family reunion.  I guess its a lil bit of column A/lil bit of column B….)
  • Seeing that there were more products for swapping on the table than food (and I scored some great new things that I was planning on leaving the event to go buy, like Aubrey Organics GBP!)
  • Learning people’s real names instead of their online avatars (and when their partners found out not only their avatar, but also just how involved and intense the online natural hair community is.  Shout out to Miss Femme Fox on this one— yes, I know your real name, but now we’re back online 🙂
  • Casually discussing behentrimonium methosulfate and everyone knowing what it was
  • Instead of being asked how I styled my hair that day, being asked how I styled Lola (for the record – a Cherry Lola Treatment and just some Karen’s Body Beautiful Hair Milk)

Please feel free to add your favorite moments and pictures in the comments section.  You can also email me your pix and I can put them up to share!

Now without further ado, the pix from the event after the jump!


25 Comments leave one →
  1. Mamajesty permalink
    April 20, 2010 11:03 am

    Amazing! Love the strong, proud sistas strutting their stuff. You make a mother proud!
    Je t’aime,Te Amos
    Mamajesty

    p.s. Just reminded me to go call Carrie. 🙂

    • April 20, 2010 11:35 am

      Thanks, Mom! Perhaps next time, you’ll have to come and join us and maybe you’ll be inspired so that these “calls to Carrie” are a thing of the past 🙂

  2. Rhonda permalink
    April 20, 2010 11:21 am

    This is beautiful and great blog! BTW can I copy the group picture to put on the facebook?

  3. Paula permalink
    April 20, 2010 11:41 am

    Hurray! Thanks for the post. I had a great time at the meet-up! It’s so nice to finally meet everyone in person and share stories etc.

  4. Savannah permalink
    April 20, 2010 12:02 pm

    Thanks for posting the pics Cassadie! I had such a wonderful time and I can’t wait to hang out with all the ladies again!

  5. Tanisha permalink
    April 20, 2010 4:39 pm

    Wonderful!!! I love to see such beautiful and strong sistas that are confident to wear their natural hair getting together and sharing information. I myself have locks and I am eagerly anticipating the next meeting.

  6. April 20, 2010 6:33 pm

    I had a great time at the meetup! I loved the product swap; I found my new fave conditioner because of it! I loved seeing the variety of textures and styles as well, can’t wait for the next one : )

  7. April 20, 2010 8:13 pm

    Great fun! I must ask, where can I get one of those tees that say “Thank God I’m Natural”? I must have one.

  8. ChrsLvsBks permalink
    April 21, 2010 5:33 am

    Beautiful, I love seeing naturals represent!

  9. Thiago permalink
    April 21, 2010 9:59 am

    Some of the girlz in the pictures don’t have natural hair

    • April 21, 2010 10:40 am

      one doesn’t. she’s the “potential transitioner” mentioned in the first sentence. either way, the more the merrier! even men with dreds would be welcome (*hint*hint*hint*)

  10. Denise permalink
    April 22, 2010 12:48 am

    Oh my goodness! I wish I was there to meet all of the natural beauties. I live in San Jose and Ive been wanting to find naturals to meet-up with. Please let me know of the next meet-up.

  11. Tracy permalink
    April 22, 2010 9:50 am

    I had such a great time.

    How do you like the GPB?

  12. m fraley permalink
    April 22, 2010 4:33 pm

    AWWW! I AM SO JEALOUS, I AM TRYING TO PUT TOGETHER A NATURAL HAIR MEETUP IN THE CITY OF PITTSBURGH PENNSYLVANIA, We do not have too many Natural Hair Lovlies in the city, but i am glad you all had a good turn out and had a great time. Stay Naturally Lovely!

  13. Mr. Big Shot permalink
    April 23, 2010 10:34 am

    More hair products on the table than food? Bu-bu-but! You said they were the same thing!

    See??? https://naturalhairselection.wordpress.com/2010/02/09/a-superbowl-snack-for-my-hair/

    • April 30, 2010 11:33 am

      Touché, Mr. Big Shot, touché…

      I have to say that I don’t know much about the conditioning benefits of bacon and watercress however….

  14. April 28, 2010 10:49 am

    That sounds so nice. Looks like you had a lot of fun. I wish we had something like that where I live.

  15. April 29, 2010 12:02 pm

    I’d love to know how the Aubrey Organics GBP works out for you. I’ve been going back and forth on purchasing some.

  16. July 6, 2010 7:26 pm

    Looks like it was so much fun. I’m looking forward to July 31st!

Trackbacks

  1. A Big Chop Surprise! « natural selection
  2. Happy Blog-o-versary to Me! « natural selection

Leave a comment